Taken in General

  • Oct. 15, 2022, 8:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Whew. Just watched the Liam Neeson movie “Taken.”

Not for the feint of heart, at least if you are a parent. Pretty badass movie, but I had to check my blood pressure, because I was adrenalized.

Trip down to pick up the folks at the Portland Jetport was uneventful. Other than their flight being delayed an hour for maintenance issues.

FlightAware is a remarkable tool. I knew their flight was delayed before I got the text from Dad.

I drove up to ‘Salem’s lot and swapped my Fusion for their Ford Edge.

The instrument panel and center MFD are the same as my car. But I hit the start button and the sound of the engine startled me.

My Fusion is a hybrid. The motor doesn’t kick on immediately. It only kicks on when the system senses the battery needs some juice.

I sync’d my phone to the MFD, turned on my book and headed for Portland.

The Edge doesn’t have intelligent cruise control. A lesson I learned over and over. In my car, I turn on the cruise control and set the distance – one, two, three car lengths.

Then the car automatically slows when the asshole in front of you slows, or the asshole in front of him slows.

Yeah. The Edge doesn’t do that.

I was back to old school foot on the throttle driving, because people!

Parked in the “Cell Lot” at the airport. I must have arrived just as their plane touched down.

Ten minutes later I got a text “We’re in Portland.”

I responded, “I’m in the cell lot.”

Loaded up their luggage and Dad asked if I wanted to drive.

Nope. All yours.

He took the Freeport detour, down some roads I road on a bike starting at 16, when I worked as a lifeguard at White’s beach. 7 Miles each way, every day.

We all remarked how high the Androscoggin was as we crossed from Durham back into Lisbon Falls.

Charlie, my parent’s little rat-dog was overjoyed they were home and proceeded to run around in a fury.

I begged off to get home before it got too dark, and to prep my grill.

I’m on Spanish time. I’ll be lucky to get the grill lit by 10PM.


Pintador October 15, 2022

I think Taken has at least 3 sequels, maybe more, if you’re looking for more adrenaline. I only saw the first one.

Duke Pintador ⋅ October 15, 2022

I've got 2 and 3 stacked in my DVR. One at a time I think.

Jinn October 16, 2022

I like Liam Neeson . I especially liked him in “ Love Actually”.

Deleted user October 16, 2022

Good news is that Neeson was just signed for a reboot of THE NAKED GUN films. He has good comic timing and can do deadpan comedy very well. No matter the rotten tomato ratings on his films, that actor can do no wrong!

gattaca October 17, 2022

Liam Neeson was extraordinary as Oskar Schindler in Schindler's List.
That film is very hard for many people to watch though.

He had a very early role in John Boorman's Excalibur as Gawain.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.