Phew - 20.06.14 in Your Face

  • June 20, 2014, 6:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Gosh, what a day. Well, it wasn't THAT bad, but it feels like it.

This morning I woke to the joyous news that not only was my brother home (still), but mother had decided to take the day off too! I must have been out of my mind when I was day dreaming about peaceful days home alone.

I got showered and dressed and headed to OfficeWorks to print off my forms to claim the money I mentioned in my earlier entry. I took photocopies of my identification documents, too. I had put $20 on a photocopying card a few months back, then never needed it. I spent a whole $0.34 on my printing and copying, so I'll have to find someone I can give the card to when I leave. Most people I know have printers or jobs where they can sneakily print things off, though.

While I was there, I had a call about my car. The woman said she was calling on behalf of her teenage son, who is learning to drive. She sounded very keen, and I am taking the car over to their house at 7:00am tomorrow. That's not a typo - she apologised for it being so early, but she wants her husband and the son to take it for a test drive. I said it was fine anyway, no problem.

I drove to the suburb where I used to work, because I thought I had my birth control prescription stored at the pharmacy there. I was wrong, it wasn't there, although I will comment that I think the woman who served me was a moron. "No, the last time we filled a script for you was in March, so you would have needed to get it filled again between then and now." Actually, no. The prescription gives you just under 4 months worth of pills, so I'm bang on schedule here. Anyway, she checked the drawer of prescriptions twice and it wasn't there, so there was no point arguing with her. I have a sneaking suspicion that I used my last repeat in March, and I probably forgot to make an appointment for a new one. I'll deal with it in the next few days.

After that, I walked over to the shopping centre and had some breakfast. I bought a cotton shirt from the Millers clearance store that has popped up temporarily. I don't care that old ladies go there, and that there were two racks stocked with bowls shorts, you can sometimes find some sweet stuff in there. The shirt I got was marked down to $15, and the cashier said it was reduced again down to $10. Excellent!

I drove home and went to visit my neighbour. The kid from down the road was cleaning his car, which he does for pocket money, so I gave him $10 to vacuum and wipe down the insides of my car so that it was nice and fresh for tomorrow morning. He did a great job, actually. I think he's about 15 or 16, he's tiny but seems older than he looks.

My neighbour needed to run some errands, so I tagged along with him. When we got back it was about 3:30pm and I still felt bored. I decided I would take my book down to the club, put on a Keno and have a hot chocolate. And disaster struck! I don't know what happened, but I clearly lost my focus and clipped the gutter as I was turning in and completely popped my front left tyre. What an absolute moron!

I called my brother and he came down, of course we didn't have the right thingy to remove the nuts from the wheel. We headed home and my brother scrounged around looking for the right sized thingy. He couldn't find one and we decided we'd wait for mother's tenant to come home, because he would have one. That was a boring wait, and I felt like I couldn't relax because it was unfinished business.

The tenant eventually came home from work and we borrowed the thingy, went down and replaced the wheel. My biggest concern was that it would look ridiculous when I take it to the prospective buyer in the morning, but the mag is the same, it's only a different brand tyre. If they ask me about it, I will tell them what happened, but if they don't ask, I just plan to replace the tyre and put the spare back in the boot. If they decide tomorrow that they want to buy it, I need to organise a lift home anyway, so I'd have a few hours in between inspection and delivery to sort that out.

I don't want to get my hopes up. I have said before that I believe that things happen for a reason, and maybe this flat tyre was a way to stop me getting the idea in my head that I've sold the car. Take a step back, think clearly and don't let my head run away with ideas. Things can always go wrong.

Of course, I could just be off my rocker.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.