Trains ... blowing whistles a comment a memory in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • Oct. 7, 2022, 11:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

|
desertoasis ⋅ January 06, 2015

I always smile when the train comes thru town, past the back of our church which houses our child care. As soon as the children hear the whistle blasts at the crossing the cry goes up, TRAIN, TRAIN! Then they all run to the big windows and watch the train roll by. Just something special about watching them roll by. In nice weather when the children are outside the engineer will give a toot-toot when he sees the children. So cute. It makes the children VERY happy.

I can relate to this, during my time on the rails. I remember in my youth, at my Grandparents, the Rio Grande mainline. Saw many freights, east and westbound. I was aware, and relished when one came through. I never worked for the Rio Grande. Who knew, 1973, I entered as a fireman on the Santa Fe out of Denver. I knew many a Rio Grande people, during my career

Kletus Wiess Engineer:

Kletus always said, you wave and blow the whistle for the children. I did good times .


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.