Route 59 Bud's in Misc. Thoughts opinions, the whole trash can.

  • June 19, 2014, 11:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Bud's was family type place, but it was an odd entity unto itself. Near the Fox Valley Mall, it was considered Aurora, Illinois, but that was the far eastern limits. Naperville was the other side, but semantics.

Various animals or animal parts hung on the walls. various sayings or quips or admonishments. There was a wild Boar's head, curved like it was ready to strike, tusks ready to rip you if they got a hold of you. Below " Bud's Ribs I've been dying for 'em". During Christmas, they hung a Santa's hat on the old Boar. "Bud's Burgers...fresh ground made daily, you may not be used to that!!" " Bud shoots the world's largest Owl!!" It took me a year, but I figured out, it was a deers hind end. Glass eyes were placed on either side of the tail. So that gives you an outlook of what this place was.

1996 Stanley Cup playoff's Chicago vs Colorado

This is a hotly contested round of the playoffs. They hate us..we hate them, Plus Colorado blistered their asses Home and Away during the regular season. Jeremy Roenick traded barbs during the series. Patrick Roy ( pronounced wah) said, and this pissed the Chicago media and fans off "I cannot hear what Jeremy is saying, because I have two stanley cup ring plugging my ear" LOL bitch slap ahh the french canadian english...HARRR.

The wife was away on business, I was off on rotation. Bud's for the game, why? because the owner of the Black Hawks would not allow home games to be televised. So, Bud's..they paid for satellite, and the Chicago fan's flocked there. We go to eat and watch the game. My youngest in his Chicago Blackhawk jersey..My oldest, my hockey player, my goal scorer, my penalty box renter, in the Colorado Avalanche "Joe Sakic" jersey. The manager recognizes us, he knows we're from Colorado. "We may have to raze you". "Go for it". We are seated, and over the inter com "Attention Avalanche Fans have entered the building". BOOOOO BOOOOOO as we are seated. We order we eat..3 rd period..it's a close game. It is also late, I need to get kids to bed and ready for school. 3-2 Chicago with 8 minutes remaining in the third. I pay the check, and tell the boys we gotta go..get ready we'll get boo'd again. We leave.."Attention the Avavlanche fans are leaving!!" YEAHHHHHHHHHHH We are on the way home...Route 59 and 75th SCORE the Av's tie the game..there is 3 minutes remaining. Wow!! As we pull into the garage SCORE!!! Avalanche 4 Chicago 3 with 1:30 left. They hold on to win. I am sorta of glad we left when we did. The Avalanche went on to win the CUP against Florida in '96.

A couple of weeks later we return to a calmer BUD's. "No hard feelings" I was asked.."never were, it's the playoffs".. BUD's was a great place..sadly now gone.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.