GLAD in 2020

  • Oct. 4, 2022, 5:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Got myself a therapist. Need to see if I can stick with it this time.

She (rightly) suggested that growing up with a narcissist mother made me basically bait for narcissists (looking at you, nefarious and unreliable ex!). Also, I might have some PTSD, and I definitely have self-esteem issues.

So to get started on reversing my innate tendency towards negative thinking, she wants me to start a brief journaling exercise. And since I’m journaling, it might as well be here!

Every day I’m supposed to write about one thing for each letter:
Gratitude
Learning
Accomplishment
Delight

Today I’m grateful for coworkers who appreciate the work that I do.

I learned that I can go up the stairs at work and be less out of breath than I expected (usually I avoid them, but there were workmen in the building this morning hogging the elevator).

I accomplished six pages of biography inventory in about 25 minutes, which means I should have no problem finishing my portion this week.

And I’m delighted with the Peach Mango Angry Orchard that I found in the grocery store yesterday.

Let’s see how long I can keep this up.


inthemidstofgray October 05, 2022

Good on you for finding a therapist! Wishing you luck on your journey. x

Honor October 10, 2022

Oof I think stairs would get me hard. Good luck with your GLAD!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.