Two years. in A small but passable life.

  • Oct. 1, 2022, 11:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The Starlink is doing great. No dropouts. Connection has remained at 100%. Speed seems to be getting faster with time. And the first monthly bill was exactly $110. No taxes or fees. Yeah, $1320 a year for internet seems rather much but considering that I didn’t pay for internet for over twenty years it seems alright. And there are rumors on the interwebs that older customers are getting their bill cut in half already. Unconfirmed, but I’m hoping.

Last months S.S. retirement check was number 24. Two years retired already and I’m not homeless and I’ve not starved to death so the new American Dream seems to have come to fruition, so far.

Which reminds me of something I heard on NPR the other day. They were talking to Gen Zer’s about something or other and this one girl said- “The world will be melted in ten years and college costs a million dollars, so I’m just going to vibe.” It made me smile knowing that someone that young has already figured out that the game is rigged. Good on her.

Daughter sending pictures of Sir Rowan reminds me of how the world has changed and how quickly. She can send me an infinite number of pictures basically for free. When she was that age (1993) pictures cost money and you couldn’t send them for free. I used to buy those disposable cameras and then have double prints made with a CD. I think maybe it was $20 or so for both.

Sir Rowan at his three month check-in was at the normal weight for babies born when he was. Even though he arrived three weeks early. And he still has the mop of hair he was born with.

I’ve finished with my end of the month chores. I did my one load a month laundry yesterday. I vacuumed around my chair. I ordered groceries today. And today was the first day I’ve seen yellow highlighted price reductions on the website. I think three or four items I regularly buy have come down in price. It was still over $50 for two weeks worth of groceries. It is what it is.

The nights haven’t cooled off enough to open the windows and turn off the A/C yet, but it’s close. Maybe another week.

Does anyone else feel like they’re living in some kind of dystopian sci-fi novel? A Ukrainian babushka said it perfectly- “Can’t anyone stop this one idiot?”

That’s all I’ve got.


Deleted user October 09, 2022

You are interesting. Another boomer I am assuming. I was forced to retire nearly 2 years ago. Having tortured myself working hard for at least 43 years, I was grateful for SS. We work ourselves to death and then ...? Thanks Mr. Roosevelt ;-) The Ukraine/Russia situation fascinates me. I have 1 Russian friend terried talking to me due to how things are in Russia. I told her to get a VPN. Another Russian friend DOES have a VPN and recently her son decided that Kazakhstan sounded like a nice place to be these days. Putin knows history and how the FSB works having once been KGB. He has surrounded himself with former KGB people for security. There is a question of, if there are so many IDIOTS wanting to use nukes in Moscow, what happens if Putin (ironically) falls out a window? Would a worse leader replace him? I am not worried about dying in a nuclear war. We all have to die of something. I have cheated death a few times. But it is so insane that 1 person in numerous times in world history could cause so much death pain and horror.

Neogy Titwhistle Deleted user ⋅ October 11, 2022

Boomer? Yep, I'm one of 4.25 million born in the US during 1957-58. I'm following several gals on youtube. From Ukraine and Russia. One of them posted yesterday from her tenth floor apartment 5.7 kilometers from center city Kyiv. Interesting times indeed!

Deleted user Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ October 11, 2022

Ok sir or ma'am you are just a kid to me LOL. I read something reassuring today from Andre Kozyrev about Putin and nuclear weapons: Putin likes his luxuries from the West and so he will not ruin that avenue for getting Norwegian water and expensive Western suits.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.