Interesting Development - 19.06.14 in Your Face

  • June 19, 2014, 5:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Got a letter today from one of those search companies that tell you about some unclaimed money in your name (in my case $216.57) and offering to retrieve it on your behalf for a nominal fee ($75). At first I figured it was a scam, then I did a little digging around on the various state government websites and, hey presto! I discovered that exact amount, unclaimed in my name, in Victoria. Seeing as it's in Victoria, it can only be something like an overpaid phone bill or perhaps a deposit from an old electricity account. The website didn't have much detail, but I have filled out the form and will send it off in the next day or so, and we'll see what it was.

All I can say is, that $216 will be very handy.

I am still sleeping terribly, I have to wonder if it was due to me moving my bed. It's not a huge move, but I am pointed in a different direction now. I am starting to wonder whether there was some truth to the old adage that M used to trot out about having to sleep facing a certain way.

Today I cashed in a bag of change ($176) and took my nephew (aged 6) for a drive to the shopping centre to let him pick out a birthday present. He was pretty excited, and he's a good kid, if a bit embarrassing. We got soft serve from McDonalds afterwards and he starting doing Russian Cossack type dancing at the counter while we waited. I was mortified! He is such a weird kid, just like his father (my brother). He has a speech impediment, so he also speaks at the top of his voice in a halting manner. He's getting better, though. I can understand 95% of what he says now, which is good.

I popped in to see my neighbour when I got home, and we got KFC for dinner. How terrible! But, I hadn't had it in quite some time, and it was DELICIOUS. I ate every bite!

I have now retired for the night and my main hope for today is for someone to buy my car soon. Much as I dread having to let it go, I know it has to go.


KissOfLife! June 19, 2014

I got a similar email like that too, but I automatically wrote it off as a scam, given the email it was sent from was nothing like what it was claiming I was owed lol, so I'm still pretty sure mine was a scam, but pretty cool yours isn't!

AlexYourAlterEgo KissOfLife! ⋅ June 19, 2014

Oh this was a letter. I immediately thought "scam", but did remember a client at work getting one for her deceased father, and it turned out to be correct. They ask for copies of your licence and utility bill, which sets off alarm bells in your head, considering that's the ID requested to open accounts or whatever...

I guess I won't believe it until I see the money. The only possible thing it could be is an overpaid mobile phone bill from when I first went to the US. I remember that was a mess - otherwise, I've never been able to afford to over pay anything!

Frailty June 19, 2014

Oh, I hope you get that money! Very handy, and I would have chalked it up as a scam too. I should pay more attention to my letters, lol.

Very cute nephew. Kids that age are so weird. Gabriel's almost 5 and he has no shame in front of people!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.