There's this survey... in SOUNDING BOARD

  • Sept. 28, 2022, 11:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…at work. They’ve only had an HR department here for a year and they’re still developing the policies/procedures etc so this is a fact-finding survey.

One of the questions was: “Do you feel you are treated fairly by leaders at the company?”

This is my answer:

“I can’t answer this question anonymously, but I’m choosing to answer it anyway. I think any reasonable person can recognize that it is not fair to ask somebody to perform two full-time roles for a prolonged period of time, without acknowledging that it is happening, without relief, and without compensation. I think most people would agree that two leaders promising an employee a promotion for accepting a second role, and then never following through, is unfair, especially when that employee is told while performing both roles that they are “like” an on-site manager. I think most reasonable people would agree that telling an employee there is “no business case” to justify hiring more employees, even when that person is performing two roles and unable to keep up with the workload. As a side note, that statement was so degrading that I think it will be with me until the end of my career; I have never felt less valued as an employee or a human being than I did when I heard that. It is unfair to expect one employee to consistently go above and beyond when other members of the team are held to a different, much lower standard, and even more so when the high-performing employee is considered equivalent to low-performing team members. I feel that generally, there is a culture of taking high-performers for granted at the company.”

RIP CAREER lolllllz


Sleepy-Eyed John September 28, 2022

Awesome!

Emily September 29, 2022

You a badass for that

Deleted user September 29, 2022

Damn!!! 👍

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.