New Life Activate in Magical Realism

  • Sept. 20, 2022, 7:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I woke up early this morning and looked out on the lake at sunrise. Rosy pink skies, glassy flat grey water at dawn, and two hot air balloons gearing up to fly, one red, one blue.

Fell back asleep and had a dream a squirrel was perched on our balcony railing. Not likely because we are 8 flights up, but we do have exotic (to me) birds come to visit occasionally. Beautiful white cockatoos with neon green crests and dinosaur feet, colorful rainbow finches, menacing magpies, doves, and even a type that looks like NYC pigeons. The cockatoos are so pretty but make squawking noises straight out of Jurassic Park, and the aggressive magpies, known for “swooping” cyclists and pedestrians, have a surprisingly pretty and melodic coo-ing song.

Had another dream that someone came in through our front window and stole the bed there while we were home. I was unsettled because it happened while we were at home, but when we checked nothing else had been taken. This bed is one that came with the unit and I don’t love it, so I think this dream was my unconscious’ way of reminding me to put it up on freecycle and get rid of it sooner than later. Noted, unconscious self. Thank you.

A showered and brought me iced coffee in bed before leaving early for a conference. I was in the office yesterday so enjoyed a leisurely morning, read a bit and eased into the day gently. Made more coffee and fried up two eggs over easy, half of the half avocado we had left in the fridge, and washed and sliced a pint of strawberries. Put half of them on the plate and half for later. The plate looked colorful with the red strawberries, green avo slices, and white egg with yellow yoke sprinkled with black pepper. I took a photo and felt a spark of accomplishment that I took the time to make something pretty and nourishing for myself.

Logged brekkie into myfitnesspal, which was also extremely satisfying. Logged on to social where a kind stranger congratulated me on the 2 year anniversary of my Quadruple marathon swim around Manhattan. That feels like yesterday and so long ago all at once. Laughed at myself realising I probably feel similar amounts of pride for swimming 114 miles and making a healthy breakfast.

Booted up my new walking pad under my standing desk and started the day with a leisurely stroll while checking and responding to work emails. Have had the walking pad just over a week now and the standing desk/walking pad is basically the best thing ever. I can walk for hours between on camera meetings and am way more productive than sitting at a desk (or slouched on a couch/bed.) I find the desk/walking pad combo aesthetically pleasing too. I chose the white walking pad as it reminded me of the sleek minimalist beauty of an apple product, and was not disappointed. Pressing the button on the standing desk to raise and lower also thrills me. Because it’s my nature, I am probably overdoing it by walking slowly for hours a day, but in terms of vices go, it seems harmless and also low impact.

Obviously I am starting a new life of being a healthy and productive human so figured I’d write a Prosebox entry to document it all. Also satisfying! But tomorrow is a public holiday so stay tuned for potential binging, debauchery and complete lack of anything productive.

Because, balance.


Ginger Snap September 20, 2022

Doesn't it feel fresh and new? Just reading this entry was like tasting a wintergreen mint!

...but I also can't wait to hear about the binging, debauchery, etc!

Fun!

Athena September 20, 2022

How neat. Thank you for this snapshot of your life.

kmh. September 20, 2022

The sound magpies make is called warbling :) They are beautiful and very intelligent birds. The swooping part sucks (I know from experience haha) but ultimately, most of us understand they're just protecting their babies. I wish we could talk to them and have them understand we would also protect their babies.
Breakfast sounds lovely! And walking pads are a brilliant idea x

Satine kmh. ⋅ September 21, 2022

omg you got swooped? It happened to A once when we lived in San Francisco.
and warbling - thank you and it's so pretty I'm happy to know the name.

kmh. Satine ⋅ September 21, 2022

Lol yeah been swooped lots of times. There’s one along the river trail near our place who gets people every year… we avoid that section now during spring, but it made Jaden bleed year before last as it got his ear.

Jigger September 20, 2022

I could NOT. get over the birds on my one trip to Australia. God. I dreamed about them at night for literally years afterwards, and I will always regret stupidly showing the cockatoo feathers stashed in my journal to the guy at the airport when he asked. He dropped my treasures in the trash can like they were garbage. Dumbshit twenty-five year old me.

kiss kitty bang! September 20, 2022

How are you not collapsing into vapors needing smelling salts yet? Birds are so goddamn terrifying.

Satine kiss kitty bang! ⋅ September 21, 2022

People here wear zip ties sticking out of their bike helmets to prevent the swooping! I do get a bit nervous that they'll come into the house when I have the balcony door open (there is no screen and we're not supposed to install one) but so far so good.

Parliament Satine ⋅ September 21, 2022

Those magnetic screen doors can be "installed" and removed pretty easily if it's a big concern.

pandora September 21, 2022

How heavy is the walking pad? Would it be easy to move?

I want to see bird pics - I love birds and am so excited about these cockatoos! If you want to feel softer re: magpies, check out Penguin Bloom with Naomi Watts. I friggin' loved that movie.

Satine pandora ⋅ September 21, 2022

Oh I will check that out, I love Naomi Watts.

The walking pad is 25 kg/55 lbs. I carried it upstairs and across the building when it first arrived and can move it easily myself - it folds up super easily and at the front/side there are wheels too so you can move it around the house/under a couch/into closet no problem. It's really just the best thing. I don't know if you have carpet but the one thing I read is that it's not good on carpet, not sure why.

sarahbaby. September 21, 2022

Never heard of a walking pad! This new life sounds really beautiful

Satine sarahbaby. ⋅ September 22, 2022

it's just a treadmill but it's flatter/smaller/lighter and doesn't go above like 8k an hour...just for walking, no elevation

sarahbaby. Satine ⋅ September 22, 2022

Brilliant 💡

Complicated Disaster September 27, 2022

The weird thing about this entry is that my takeaway was that I couldn't imagine ever living eight floors up! xx

Satine Complicated Disaster ⋅ September 27, 2022

I will take that to mean you can totally imagine swimming for 45 hours straight, and I love that about you! But you're right - this is the highest floor I've lived on too.

Complicated Disaster Satine ⋅ September 28, 2022

Well I mean I can certainly imagine *you* swimming for 45 hours straight!! xx

plushcreep September 30, 2022

Seeing cockatoos flying around in the wild would be pretty cool!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.