American Kill Switch in General

  • Sept. 19, 2022, 5:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I got a text on my iPhone this morning. “Hi, this is Steve from XYZ (The company I have been waiting for an offer from). I left a voicemail. I need to talk to you.”

I didn’t get the text until 2 hours after he sent it, because I don’t carry the iPhone around when I am home.

I texted back “Hi Steve, I didn’t get the voice mail. What number should I call?” Then headed for the door. I needed some avocados and tomatoes. Halfway to Shaw’s the phone rang, and my car picks up the call, which is convenient. I still stopped to talk, because I am responsible like that.

I’m in. They re-wrote the req to match my resume (I freaking knew they do that, or at least suspected it!) and sent it to HR telling them I was the guy.

Unfortunately, HR is underwater, up to 300 comings and goings a month and they struggle to keep up.

Steve said I should hear something in the next couple of weeks with an offer. I will be very interested to hear what they offer.

Note to self: Carry a notebook in the car. I had to take notes on a paper bag that was previously used to take stuff to be shredded to Staples (much more efficient that buying a new shredder every six months!)

Good news is they now have a limited work from home option, which will be handy during winter blizzards, which really only happen every other year. Log in and work instead of using PTO.

Bad news is I am going to have to shit or get off the pot regarding the home studio, whose electronics are spread across the kitchen table. Gonna need that space.

Neutral news. A trip to Men’s Wearhouse. Need some more khakis and dress shirts after spending a decade in gym gear, jeans and T-shirts.

I’d be lying if I didn’t say I am a bit wired for sound right now.

Title is the title of the third book in a three-book series I got for free from Audible. It was fantastic. Toward the end, the author started killing off the primary characters during a battle between “our heroes” and “The Legion.” I was afraid he was going to do a Stephen King a al “The Stand” where he got writers block, so killed off most of his primary characters to get himself started again. The Stand is one of my favorite books, and no movie will ever do it justice. But I am still pissed off at Stevie for writing that bomb in that house.


Last updated September 19, 2022


Jinn September 19, 2022

🤔 Congrats that they want to hire you !!!!

Duke Jinn ⋅ September 19, 2022

Thanks!

Sassy September 20, 2022

Yay! Awesome news!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.