An experiment. in A small but passable life.

  • Sept. 10, 2022, 10:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I received the email from Starlink. I had placed my order and deposit of $99 on 7/4/20. Service is now available at Latitude 33.385. The price for the unit is $549, up from the initial offering of $499. The monthly service is now $110, up from the initial $99. Hopefully the monthly is locked in. I’m paying $29.99 now for a DSL that barely works through the old landline. So, $80 more a month. It should be shipped within two weeks.

I just ran a speed test on the current service- 10.9 Mbps download and 0.85 Mbps upload. Google says that the average speed in the US is 46.86 Mbps. I’m able to stream youtube. It’s just me here. But maybe some day I’ll want a 4k smart TV to stream movies. Or maybe I’ll want to be a gamer, or a twitch streamer some day?

Another selling point for the Starlink is that it’s possibly mobile. If I move I can take it with me. And there is an optional mobile plan to switch to if I decide on vanlife again.

Yeah, $3.61 per day for internet and $5.75 per day for housing. Welcome to the modern world.

It tried to rain last night. Maybe 1/16” in the rain gauge this morning. The constant triple digits may have come to an end. There are a couple more in the coming week’s forecast. The historical latest date for triple digits is September 19th.

Train travel? I’ve been exploring that. $499 for an Amtrak Rail Pass. That’s 10 “segments” in a thirty day period, sitting in coach. It’ll be about forty hours to get from here to there, vs. 2hr. 25min. on a plane. Something to think about.

So yeah, that’s all I’ve got.


woman in the moon September 10, 2022 (edited September 10, 2022)

Edited

I must have missed something. Is that the Elon Musk satellite internety thing? I really need to do something about my phone. I have no cell phone at all/ever and my land line costs almost $80/month and is full of junk and doesn't work when it rains which luckily I guess is most of the time except winter.
I wish someone could just magically FIX IT.
My internet is pretty much ok. Satellite through the rural electric co op and costs $50/month and works good enough for my son and me.
Where are you going on the train? I've just gone from lacrosse to st paul half a dozen times - want to go again soon. Seats are roomy, cars are not full at all. Take a good pillow and a comfy blankie and I think you'd be comfortable. Good people watching, lost of change in scenery, fellow travellers, crew/staff, time of day, etc. Diner is limited but not expensive and you can bring your own food easily - not to the diner but to eat in the coach. I'm sure you know all this.
I think I'm too old to really take a trip.
My goal in life would be to get a good cell phone and move into my son's twin cities suburban basement and learn now to run the transit system. Wouldn't that be fun?
I shoulda done it ten years ago.

Neogy Titwhistle woman in the moon ⋅ September 10, 2022

Boost Mobile may work for you. $50 for one line, unlimited everything. The only problem with Amtrak is that it doesn't run, exactly, from here to there like the flights do. So it would be like Tucson to Kansas City instead of Mesa to Springfield.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.