Howdy y'all! in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Sept. 3, 2022, 8:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good Evening everyone. It’s 7:30 pm here in the deserts of West Texas and I’m at work, but it’s slow right now. Not too much is going on in life on the negative side. Brian and Liz are still having their problems, but they’re parenting well together so I’m just keeping mum about my opinions on the matter with them. HOWEVER; you guys aren’t them, so I’m going to vent a little about what I call “youngspeak”. This is when young people say things that tax my ability to be kind.
On my last trip home, Liz and I were talking and she told me the reason she was leaving Brian was that she left home too young, never got her education and had jumped from one relationship to another, then to marriage, and needed to find out who SHE before she tried to have a marriage and family. It was all very heartfelt and dramatic on her end and I know she was trying to be honest and sincere, so I simply told her she was always going to be part of the family regardless of how things worked out, and I was not going to take sides, etc.
Everything I said was true, but in my mind I was also saying, “Maybe you should have thought of all that one marriage and two children ago?”
I know that wasn’t a charitable thought, but still. I won’t do or say anything to insert myself or take sides with either of them, but sometimes I want to shake them until their heads rattle.
And to top that off, both of my sons and their wives told me I spoil the grandchildren too much.
Well, of course I do. That is entirely the point of being a grandparent!
However, after carefully considering their rightful authority as parents, I hopped on Amazon and each child now has a huge bag of assorted chocolates and candy winging it’s way to them as I type.
Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the unrepentant grandfather.
Take care until next time everyone!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.