June 14th-16th. in June Writing Challenge

  • June 16, 2014, 9:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

HAI! i'm writing this as a word document on a plane to NJ. i normally get pretty lucky when I travel because I plan ahead and have loyalty perks etc. etc. I also try to fly virgin america almost exclusively because it’s the BEST and there’s really no other domestic airline that comes close to it. i'm a virgin whore.

b-u-u-u-t...for this trip I wasn’t able to sync up my desired flight schedule exactly right with the offered flight times on virgin, so I’m stuck flying stupid united. {wah}

the list of reasons why this sucks:

first - no wifi? What year are we in? second - no TV monitors on this flight – at all. so … no movie, no in-flight entertainment whatsoever. i can understand this on short flights, but for a 5 +hour flight, it’s pretty ridic. third – i am seated in the very last row in the aisle seat. so I get to encounter EVERY. SINGLE. PERSON. that has to go potty. fourth – my seat doesn’t recline because of aforementioned last row situation. fifth - they made me check my carry-on because i was the last 'group' to board and all of the other jerkholes on the flight used up all the space in the overhead bins. stupid jerkholes. stupid overhead bins that are too small.

editors note: i waited for nearly AN HOUR for my luggage to come to baggage claim. because: UNITED SUCKS. is why.

FML #firstworldproblems #hashtagwhatever.

so I guess this gives me a good chance to just write without being distracted by email, facebook, etc.etc. I actually plan to start writing a report for work, but real quick I’ll write about my weekend.

friday: went to the gym, ran 4 miles, I think. worked fast & furious the rest of the day; Joaquin came home from daycare around 5p. we ordered pizza for the tribe of friends we have in town. They returned from Universal Studios around 6p. we hung out on the back porch watching the kids entertain themselves while enjoying our favorite pizza and pasta dishes and had some wine, really enjoyed it.

saturday: ran 7.01 miles at the gym despite being a bit hungover due to joaquin’s early wake-up call. came home, changed into beach gear and headed to santa monica to join our friends. hung out at the beach for a few hours and then returned home to shower up and get the grill ready for dinner. Had a nice bbq with our friends and again, let the kids entertain themselves. I was totally crabby all day due to the early wakeup and joaquin’s associated crankiness. But we powered through and made the most of our day, anyway. light on the wine this time.

sunday: woke up ass crack early again, had Joaquin ‘color’ the cards we bought for father’s day and arranged Aaron's cards & gifts on the table for him to see when he woke up. (in addition to paying for a tattoo he got a few weeks ago, we also got him several new vinyl records to add to his growing record collection and a PAPA BEAR mug! so cute). had a nice morning with everyone, then headed to the gym and ran 3.3 miles. I headed out to a coffee shop at the mall to call my dad while aaron finished his workout.. We then took Joaquin on the train ride at the mall. Headed to the store to grab some stuff for the day ahead. entertained our friends from MN (2), their kids (3), my brother & sister-in-law and their baby (3), my mother-in-law (1), my other brother-in-law (1) and my niece who is visiting from MN as well (1). Including Aaron, myself and Joaquin (3), we had a total of 14 people at our house for a father’s day BBQ. It was a lot of work (exhausting), but really nice. we had amazing steak, chicken, sausage, quinoa salad, watermelon/arugula/feta salad, kale and mushroom salad, hummus and yummy chips and a bunch of amazing desserts. it was a lovely group effort! we stayed up too late chatting with our friends, and then had to watch the game of thrones finale… and then had ANOTHER early wake-up (thanks Joaquin), but slept really solid last night so it wasn’t as painful.

now I’m en route to NJ for a few days. I return Wednesday morning at 9a, my parents arrive from MN around the same time, so thus begins a week of entertaining another group of MN visitors… ahhh.

ahh gotta go! (battery is dying fast and I do need to get SOME work done on this damn flight!)

xo


BlueEyedDevil June 17, 2014

I have not yet flown Virgin, I'll have to check it out!

Jeanine June 17, 2014

I need a nap after your weekend! Shame parents don't get to TAKE naps! I hope you have/had/are having an amazing trip!

next week June 18, 2014

This sounds super lovely! And OMG, it's midnight and I'm hungry for some stupid reason and all those foods made my mouth WATER!

P.S. Boooooo United! That whole experience sounds absolutely horrid.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.