Routine. in A small but passable life.

  • Sept. 1, 2022, 5:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I did my once a month, last day of the month, one load of laundry. I turned the page on the wall calendar. And this morning, the first day of the month, I ordered groceries. $78.94. I’m going to have to give up the Instacart delivery. The service fee and tip were nearly $10. Seems like a lot for “free” delivery. I only shop twice a month but that adds up. I’ll just have to wait the year out and then start riding my scooter to the store about once a week or whenever I run out of milk.

My sis-in-law texted me a couple of pictures of her holding the Grandson, and asking if I’m jealous. Well. yeah!

I retired two more T-shirts. The original package, from walmart, contained five T-shirts (for $15?), two gray and three black. I started with wearing one black and one gray, alternating every month. After a couple of years I retired those two and started wearing two more brand new ones, gray and black. Two or so years later, yesterday, I retired the second set. Now I’ve got the one brand new black one left. By retired I mean stashed in a carry-on in the closet along with a dozen or so ragged, holey, and faded bandannas. Because . . . sentimental?

I bought myself a new bluetooth speaker for my birthday. I already had the Anker Soundcore Mini for backpacking. I now have the Anker Soundcore 1. The Mini weighs 7.1oz, the 1 weighs in at 13.2ozs. It was only $20. I had to buy a faux Moleskine journal for $4 to get me over $25 for free shipping. I didn’t need another blank journal but I’m happy with the speaker.

Daughter sent me prints of some photos taken during my visit in July. Now I’ll need to go to the Goodwill and find some frames.

I managed to put 64% of my last monthly pension check into savings. I may be able to do that at least two more times this year.

This is the time of year when the heat turns boring and stupid. Highs in the low 100’s, low’s in the mid 80’s. Every single day. It has tried to rain a few times though.

Yeah, routine stuff.


Emily September 01, 2022

:)

woman in the moon September 10, 2022

I love the way you deal with money. I am a little like that but not to the extent that you are. I end up having to support my son and the dog and the cats - not totally, and that's a secret so this is a private note. Oh and my miserable old house, and I 'own' stuff. But boy the basics are more alike than different.
I wish I were techier. techy-er.
I wish I gave a damn.

Best wishes to you. Do you tell people the baby's name? If you did I forgot. If you don't I understand.

Neogy Titwhistle woman in the moon ⋅ September 10, 2022

Didn't I mention his name? Rowan Darren. I've taken to addressing him as Sir Rowan. Seems fitting.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.