Mercenary II in General

  • Aug. 26, 2022, 9:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I showed up fifteen minutes early for the interview.

Walked through the front door ten minutes early, announced my arrival and took a seat.

Still wearing shades I didn’t move for a half an hour. I sat staring at the wall asking myself “Who are you? Who are you?”

I went into some kind of weird altered mental state.

When I was called back for the interview it was motherfucking game on.

I owned that room.

They kept calling more and more managers into the room to hear my saga.

I guess it could be called a saga.

I regaled with tales of database management, excel exploits, flying in Bosnia, Kosovo, Iraq and Afghanistan. Getting shot at. Living half my adult life on aircraft carriers.

I felt like a fucking rock star.

They didn’t ask me a question I couldn’t immediately answer.

The Department Head for D84 - my old Department was D82 CMDM, but at some point was rolled into D84, got an invite in. I will probably end up working for her. I was connecting with the people in the room.

It was awesome.

Of course I had 4 cups of coffee before heading that way.

No way I am sleeping and going to work tonight.

I just wish I could go in and give my notice.

No idea how long it will take to get an offer.

Sweet baby Jesus I want to drop the heavy bag out of the attic, fire up some Metallica and punch the living shit out of 65 pounds of inanimate object. Then maybe jump on the speed bag.

I am right at the edge of being horny.

As days go, this day kicked ass.

When I come off this weird endorphin/caffeine rush I have no doubt I will have a serious headache.

I can’t go to work like this. My bullshit tolerance is subterranean.

A man has to know his limitations.

I want to quit the Wally World gig, but I am smart enough to know burning bridges is a bad plan. 21 bucks an hour is still 21 bucks an hour.


Last updated August 27, 2022


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.