Chicagoland , the wedding, and thoughts seventeen years past. in Misc. Thoughts opinions, the whole trash can.

  • June 17, 2014, 4:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We landed at Chicago Midway Airport on Friday afternoon. The bags were picked up, and off for the rental car. That picked up, off to Oakbrook,IL, and to the hotel. This now in rush hour traffic, on the 55 heading westbound to the suburbs. We both remarked that the traffic was good and we maintained 55 to 60 mph on the way out of Chicago.

We arrived at the Oakbrook Hills Resort, where the reception would be held. This is a really nice place, plus it is a PGA rated Golf course, or courses, and a big venue for holding meetings. The check-in went off without any fanfare, a a quick elevator ride to the tenth floor. The room wow!!!, and we were told it was a smaller room. Really, this is small?, wonder what the big rooms and the suites look like. The bed was a king-size, but it was bigger than I have ever seen. Reminded me of the feather beds in Europe, and cuts as comfortable.

When we checked in, we were told people were inquiring about our arrival. I said hopefully the County Sheriff or the local police were not looking for us. I got the look from my wife and the desk clerk. Work with me it's a tough crowd.

It was the friends of my wife, who she worked with, in her earlier career, with this insurance brokerage. We met them for dinner, at a good Italian restaurant at the Oakbrook mall. Things were coming back to me, and I recognized it right away. Scary ( que the old science fiction music ).

Saturday June 14th, Christ's Church, Oakbrook

The wedding isn't till 400 pm, so we have time to kill. Someone who will remain nameless, packed the wrong shoes. Black lace ups, brown loafers, see how that rhymes ?? So off to Oakbrook Mall again. It is ten minutes away, and will get some good walking in. Macy's, Father's Day, the shoe department, it's a unisex department and everybody and their duck is there. I have been told "We'll miss the wedding, if we wait here". Point taken, and off to Lord & Taylor, for the goal. I find a nice pair of lighter brown wing tips, the sales clerk goes to look for the two sizes I requested. I also look for others, and he returns flustered, and says "they show in stock, but are not there". I pick out another same style, lighter color as well, and $50.00 dollars cheaper. He brings them and they fit well, the first time. I buy them and get a $20.00 discount, for my patience and for them not stocking the others. Wow!!! It cost me $72.00 with tax, I'm living large.

Time to get dressed, and off to the wedding. The church is less than 10 minutes away. We're a little early, but not too early. My wife and her former co-workers, meet the father of the bride, who was Head of Office in Denver at that time. It was good to see him and his wife again. He's my age, 62 and he is not as slim as he was, but that happens to all of us.

The ceremony was wonderful. There were two clergy there, the Pastor of the Christ's Church of Oakbrook and the Priest that was brought from Ecuador , to translate in Spanish. The groom was from Ecuador, and most of his family and friends still live there. It was a unique ceremony and I was glad to attend.

They were married, pronounce Husband ans Wife, and back to the resort for the reception line and the wedding reception itself. This was a spread, and the resort did a masterful job in getting set up and running smoothly.

Sunday June 15th, the next day ... The odyssey

We checked out and said our good byes. We headed to Naperville, where we lived for four years from June of 1993 thru July 1997, till transferred to Ft Worth with BNSF.

Taking Ogden Avenue we headed west thru Westmont, Downers Grove, Lisle, and Naperville. Washington Ave is the north south connection to 75th Street. I wondered aloud, if Casey's Foods was still there. There was a Trader Joes next door to it. Casey's was more of a full service butcher shop, than a grocery store. Yeah you could get some things, but it was cheaper at a grocery store for anything else other than meat or poultry.

Turning on 75th, we headed to Modaff, and southward to the Westglenn subdivision. Destination 578 Bovidae Circle, the old former homestead. The house looked good and we wondered if the neighbors we knew were still there.

The Cul-de-Sac, where we played street hockey with the neighborhood kids. These kids were an overall good bunch. We had a handicapped kid, mentally and sort physically challenged. Neil was always on my team, and mom had him in his skates in royal battle armor. I passed to Neil a lot, shoot Neil. He'd shoot back to me.. :). During a game, I'd skate to the other goalie...I'm giving Neil the puck..let him score on ya...yes sir was always the reply. They'd do it for me. And for Neil...:)

Onward..around Route 59. There was a fly in community..people that had homes and a place for the old small plane. Aero Estates...how I knew of it was two ways. I was always intrigued , that you'd see small planes coming in over 75th and the cornfield and landing. A small regional airport, NO...Aero Estates. Dan would have me or his mom take him to this new friend, where? Yep..

The cornfield at 75th and Route 59 is now gone. It is mega Lowe's, Home Depot, Staples, et al. I said we need to go down a mile, turn left...GINA we dun struck gold!!! Aero Estates is still there!

Bud's and the Fox Valley Mall. Aurora /Naperville

Bud's was a sports bar in the area. Family friendly...and a good place to go eat if we were late. I'll write a Bud's vignette another time. The Fox Valley Mall was a new and great place. Sadly both are gone as new things are taking their places. Onward and upward to downtown Naperville. They revamped the old downtown. We parked and did the river walk for 2 miles. Centennial Beach, an old rock quarry turned swimming hole. Still there looks great.

The old furniture factory, 17 years ago was turned into an indoor craft mall. Had a brew pub. And many craft stores. Now still going, but an office complex.. Too bad. It was by the Naperville depot for METRA and a stop for Amtrak. I picked my wife up here a few times. Remember AMTRAK P-40-CH's...Panting ready to lift 20 cars to destination. The squeal of the commuter trains as they slammed into the depot. Compressors kicking in...the highball..and they accelerated out of town. This was former CB&Q / BN territory, but they did a good job keeping them on time.

On to Batavia,Geneva. And St Charles. IL

We took Washington Avenue down to Warrenville, to skirt construction on Route 59. We joined Route 59 towards West Chicago, IL and took Route 39 into Geneva.

The Mill Race Inn...I said it was Batavia and not a quest to find, but were in the general area. "I'm now curious about the Mill Race, I am now told". We get closer to downtown and there is Route 25. Just as we turn left, the phone says Mill Race not available. Then the hand painted Mill Race Inn sign that was lighted by flood lights, appears No Mill Race Inn...The building that housed the "Duck Inn" bar the Mill Race dining area are gone .. The was a little "hut" near the walk way by the Fox River, where Brats, Hamburgers, Hot Dogs, pop, and yes Beer and Wine were served during the summer. This was a good place to eat. My late mother did hair for others at a retirement community in Colorado, that remembered the Mill Race Inn.

St Charles, IL

We drove a whopping 2.8 miles to St. Charles. Turned into 1st Street, along the Fox River and found a place to park. We walked the greater downtown area, and I found a place that sold Home Brew supplies ...:) JOY. They were closed ...

The Filling Station is where we ate. This was an old Service Station and Garage, for those of us that remember those. I had the Rocket 88..wow pitter patter be still beating hearts. IT WAS A RUBEN SANDWICH!!!. Guess what was on tap? ERRGGGHHHH !! Times up !! Hacker Pshorr Wheat Beer..from Germany...not skunky..unfiltered wheat, and NO!!! they served it with a Lemon..not asked for. I hear Science fiction music again. Like ya should have it. Ever get O'Dells Easy Street Wheat from Colorado...This was a clone..or vice versa. Great afternoon.

On to Chicago...Chicago Ohare Hilton.

Well this was our final resting place before heading home. Monday dawns, I take the wife to her destination for a client meeting. I hang around, get a lunch, grab her and the other associate,and off to turn in the rental car. get the TSA physical, and head home.

Was a good week end. Sorry Chicagoland, great place to visit...wouldn't want to live there. I did for 4 years,,,was okay..but I liked Texas...yeah really liked Texas..

A space in time .... Thanks for reading


MageB June 17, 2014

I like Chicago and it's arts, but I flat out love California. I'm not saying a word about Texas.

woman in the moon June 18, 2014

Lots here. I liked hearing about Neil.

Brakeshoe Bob woman in the moon ⋅ June 18, 2014

I really never knew about Neil's handicap. He spoke clearly, but was challenged. But to skate, and try to play..that was a victory in itself. Neil kinda stomped when he skated. I think his dad tightened the wheels to make them drag on purpose,it worked. I think he was maybe 8 to 11 years of age..so he's maybe 25-28 now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.