Amish Paradise in General

  • Aug. 24, 2022, 3:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was on a break last week when google recommended this video. I watched it on my phone and laughed way more than I should have.

When I was living in an alternate universe, in southern Maryland between my military career and this shitshow attempt at a civilian life.

We lived in a community that was between Park Hall and Great Mills, although our address said Lexington Park.

There were two ways in and out. 234 and 235..

Going up 235 was seriously Amish country. I can’t speak to their mental health, but they are physically impressive people. Of course, they have no vices, grow everything they eat, and only eat things they grow. They work constantly. They are they antithesis of everything America has been trying to turn itself into in my lifetime.

Driving around a bend I saw this huge dude driving a four-horse drawn plow. Straw hat, suspenders, black trousers, and looking like he should be on the cover of Muscle and Fitness.

Whoa!

In small stores, the women, even completely covered were obviously amazingly gorgeous.

Washing Machine Blues

My 25 year old washing machine shit the bed. Again. The day before I went into heart surgery the dial fell apart.

Comically, I put a yellow sticky on the faceplate of the washer “Doesn’t Work.”

I really had no idea if I would know what was going on, and presciently thought giving myself a warning about a defunct washing machine might be a good idea.

Months later I ordered the parts and replaced the dial. Good times, months after open heart surgery.

Six months ago, the replacement dial started falling apart. I fixed its little red wagon with a small pair of vice grips.

Until it stopped working entirely.

Lowe’s delivered the replacement this morning.

Today being laundry day, I did laundry. My only complaint (and I can’t imagine anyone but me having this complaint) the thing is too quiet.

Silent. How am I supposed to know when my laundry is done?

First world problems.

Puppy Ponderings

On Sunday’s, local news fixture Steve Minic does a segment highlighting local businesses and public interest stories.

Somewhere south, Wells, Scarborough that neck of the woods there is a Labrador Retriever Lifeguard.

I was smitten! She was so well trained, and so enthusiastic. So gad damned fierce!

So I researched Labs.

When I was born my grandparents had a Black Lab mix. Spooky. She was so black she would disappear in the dark.

On one of our trips home, two year old me wanted to know where Spooky was.

Asshole Grandfather, not knowing how to explain to a two year old that Spooky was dead, told me that Spooky was taking a walk down by the river.

I pestered my father until he took me on the long walk to the river, calling out for Spooky.

I now ponder how heartbreaking for dad that had to be, to take a two year old on a long walk through the woods to the Androscoggin calling out for a dog that was in a hole behind the barn, all the while knowing we wouldn’t find Spooky.

Sort of breaks my heart now.

In my research I found Labs were pretty much everything I could ever want in a dog. Except I couldn’t leave her alone.

I suppose that puts another log on the fire to trying to get the studio set up. If I can earn from home I think I will spent some time pondering getting a lab. We have a large park easy walking distance. We can train, and she could frolic and play and train some more.

In the interim, I can’t get a pup then leave her alone for ten hours a night.

Work Sads

The last three nights I have been augmenting in Chemicals and Paper. One of the regulars there is Laura.

Nothing romantic going on, but she is just an awesome person. Great sense of humor (which is rare on the overnight. I can’t tell you the number of times I have had a joke be received like a turd in a punchbowl ,)

So rarely in life have I found myself just knowing someone was just good>.

I only now know how rare that is…

I told her it was my Friday, and I was getting some sleep and grilling a steak if I could find one. And not getting up at 2100.

She told me it was her last night. They had moved to Turner and she needed to spend more time with her son.

What I didn’t say was “You mean I can’t finish up my aisles then come over here and help you in paper and chemicals?”

I ran cardboard to the back compacter.

On the way to dump my cart we crossed paths and she asked if I was going to help her zone,

Unfortunately I had a washing machine heading for my house.

It’s all good. A few more shifts and I probably would have fallen in love with her.

And we all know how that goes.


Last updated August 24, 2022


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.