Still a crazy cat lady in Life

  • June 15, 2014, 11:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

I'm being a bad daughter today and not calling my Dad. For one I’ve been buzy all day and for the other I just don't feel like going through the pretence. Me pretending to care about what he has to say him pretending to care what I have to say. It is what it is. I love him and forgive him for the mistakes he has made but at this late stage we are never going to have a close relationship.

alt text

Wednesday was a struggle. We had a snack day at work and I made bad choices at breakfast with donuts and cookies but by lunch I had it under control with a salad and a serving of strawberry shortcake then I got a text from my aunt inviting me to go to their house of lasagna for dinner. I'm taking it as a positive that I accepted the invitation. In the past I would have said no because I wouldn't have wanted to deal with the temptation but I’m done declining invitations for that reason. I didn't get to 281 pounds because of spending time with family and friends. I got that big by staying home, watching tv, reading, and playing on the computer while gorging on pizza, ice cream, burgers and fries. I’m going to accept the fact I made bad choices Wednesday but I’m going to still spend time with family and friends. My next time to practice is Wednesday. Gina, Lainie and I are going up to Grandma’s for the day. We will probably go to Toot Toots where I will be able to have a salad but the struggle is going to be the dessert bar. I’m going to state here and now that a problem I had at Easter was all the candy at Grandma’s and I’m determined that I’m not going to have one bite of candy while I’m there. I may make other bad choices but that’s not going to be one of them.

alt text

The best part of Wednesday was the drive up to St Joe with Gina, Kenny and Lainie. I got to sit in the back with Lainie and we chatted and played the entire time. She told me that I had blue eyes just like her and her mama. We pretended to be birds. We were Robins, Cardinals, and blue jays. I love that little girl so much!

Good Things I did for me today

Ran 12.5 miles

Stayed in calorie range Played with kittens at Petsmart. We have 3 little black kittens now. I hope they get adopted quickly. We still have 2 black cats left over from last year that no one adopted. Poor black kitties. Always the last to be chosen. If I could I would have 26 black cats. Then I could tell animal control that I had 4 and none of my neighbors would be able to say any different. Lets see I would name them Azriel, Balaam, Coal, Darwin, Glinda, Salem.

alt text


Darcy0207 from OD June 16, 2014

life would be so much easier if other people "got on board" with your needs! It's hard to say no to socializing, friends or family. Can you have some input as to where you eat, so that you don't have to deal with a dessert bar? Keep up the good work. I so understand about going through the motions with a parent. Towards the end of her life, my mother would say, "I love you." I'd just stand there.

~Katherine June 16, 2014

Laughing at your fantasy of having 26 black cats and saying you only had four because who would know. :) I've never understood why people seem to prefer anything but black in cats and dogs. I love black cats -- the ones I've known have been calmer and more laid back than some other cats. That may be just a fluke but it's made me like them.

I felt sorry for the diabetics at the library. We had so many seriously obese and diabetic people working there. And parties way too often where the desserts were piled high at the end of the table where I worked. Like alcoholics who want everyone to drink with them, they would stop and pile their plates high and ask why I didn't join in. I would tell them I had a couple of cookies or a slice of chocolate cake earlier but that didn't seem to make sense to them. Just like me not understanding how someone could have just one or two beers and then stop. I say good for you if you can go where the "poison" is [that's how I think of sugar and alcohol] and not join in the madness. And, on those occasions where you do partake, you seem to always get right back on track.

Eriu June 16, 2014

If I could adopt the black cats, I would! I have a black cat who was feral, and I love her to pieces! (She's my little doctor.) I hate to think of any animal not being adopted when it has a lot of love to give.

edna million June 16, 2014

Kitties!!!! I don't understand people not wanting black cats either. I've always had black cats. And why would the color matter anyhow?!?

That's a great point about it being much better to go socialize with your family than sit alone at home eating. I find it easier to eat normally when I'm around other people. It's when I'm by myself that I tend to lose control.

Ragdolls June 16, 2014

Squidobarnez June 16, 2014

I hope you're having as lovely of a now as you can.

PB-buddy-huggies

Deleted user June 19, 2014

My son has 4 black cats. Those are the only ones he loves. Two are long haired. I can only remember one name which is Midnight. Loved this newsy entry. I think the young ones keep our hearts young and give us hope for the future. :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.