my best friend is having a baby in Daily Ranting

  • Aug. 17, 2022, 9:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

i’m so excited for her. i’m going shopping tomorrow at the big fancy mall for some nice gifts for her baby shower on sunday. i was able to get only a few days of pto approved so i’ll be off work until monday when i go back. better than nothing. i’ll just have to spread my days out so that i don’t lose them.
the boss i used to have a crush on called me today. he wanted to see how my mom was doing and if i was doing okay. i appreciated the call. he said he thought about me today and it honestly made me feel seen. not in a personal way but a professional way. theres a big project in another city that includes setting up a store for the holiday season and our store manager asked all the team leaders for recommendations on who to send. when he called me to ask about my mom they were just getting out of that meeting and he said that he and four (out of 7) other leaders recommended i go. he pulled up pictures of previous setups i had done for my department from previous seasons and really pushed for me to go.
i like feeling like my work is appreciated. he wasn’t supposed to say anything until they could all decide on one person but he said he was too excited for me to have the opportunity to not tell me right away.
right after that phone call i was just left pacing and feeling the anxiety of knowing people were talking about me. and then my best friend calls. all the times she was feeling sick and all the funny feelings resulted in a pregnancy. her and her husband were under the impression that they couldn’t have kids so they’re very excited. i’m very excited. i’m so happy for them. today was a good day. they deserve this happiness.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.