Done deal. in A small but passable life.

  • Aug. 17, 2022, 3:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The first trip up into the attic after the initial look over, I found the tank full. I got the hose out and drained it. I disconnected the water lines. I called it quits because of the heat up there.

The other morning I woke up to a cloudy and cool-ish day. After my coffee I decided to just get the damn thing done. I went up and cut the power wire and disconnected the relief valve drain. I wrestled it down through the attic hole, dribbling a bit of water and some gunk with it out unto my bed. Fuck. Out the door with it and set it out back.

I got the water hose back out and hooked it up. I shot water into the “out” fitting and watched a ton of crap flow out the “in” fitting. I’d slosh it around and flush more crap out. Finally the water was running clear.

I set it up into the cubby and hooked everything up. I turned the water on and pressured it up. No leaks.

Done deal. Except that I haven’t flipped the switch to see if it makes hot water. I’ll wait. I usually don’t turn the water heater on until November 1st or so anyway.

The trash folks did pick up the old water heater on recycling day.

I washed my blanket off the bed and everything I’d been wearing because I was drenched in sweat. After a shower I was feeling pretty proud of my accomplishment.

Start to finish, two hours.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.