Happy (Kind Of) Fathers Day in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • June 15, 2014, 3:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

June 15th 2014

Well, today is Father's Day Day in the great old USA , and per usual I am at work. Bradley is supposed to come relieve me at 5 p.m. so that I can go to Brandons house for a Father's Day dinner. I'm hoping that he proves to be reliable today of all days. There's been more friction between the boys and Gail, and as a result they've been little help around the house lately. I'm getting really, really tired of drama at home. She knew when she moved in that I would not tolerate any type of disharmony between her and my boys. Now she finds fault with everything they do or do not do to her satisfaction. For instance, Brian made dinner, but made chicken parmesan instead of meatloaf which is what she had wanted. She did not tell anyone she put ground meat in the refrigerator to thaw, nor that she wanted meatloaf. Brian took out the chicken, cooked it, and made a very nice dinner and she threw a hissy fit before I got home, and locked herself in the bedroom refusing to come out until I got there. So, after a 14 hour day I walked in on a tirade about how thoughtless my son was for cooking "the wrong" dinner. And the boys told me that Bradley's future father in law came over to visit his daughter, and Gail cracked open the bathroom window and began taking pictures of them out in the yard. When I asked her why she was doing that instead of just going out and introducing herself, she said he rode up on a motorcycle and she thought he was a drug dealer. The man is a business owner in his mid forties and so clean cut he could be a Republican presidential candidate. I honestly do not know what goes through her mind. His motorcycle is a Harley Davidson Silver Edition, an extremely expensive bike. If dealing drugs made that kind of money I would be on the wrong side of the law, lol. Or, I guess rather I should say, if most drug dealers didn't snort it up their nose or smoke it I would be on the wrong side of the law. Brian also walked in and found her in his room looking under his mattress. She told him I asked her to look under there for some missing stuff, so he was mad at me at first. So not only did she invade his privacy, lie and put me in the middle, but I was forced to tell him that she lied, which was a little embarrassing to me. She said she suspected he was using drugs. I don't think the aforementioned month grace period is going to happen at this point. Between hissy fits, long work hours, no days off, and mounting expenses my stress level is high enough without drama at home. She seems to have some very severe issues with privacy and personal boundaries. And I neither have the desire nor the energy to try and educate her on either. C'est La Vie. I also have to try to bite my tongue when she wants to educate me on how to raise my kids who are already grown. She left both of her children with her mother to raise and only just established a relationship with them within the last 2 or 3 years. I'm not judging I don't know what her circumstances were at the time, but if you had no hand in raising your children you certainly have no place to tell me how I should be treating mine. All in all, its just developing into an unhappy state. Well this post turned into a rant really quickly. Not what I intended but I guess I needed to get something off my chest this morning, lol. I'm looking forward to a nice dinner tonight with Brandon and his family and hopefully Brian. I don't know where else around the world they celebrate this day but happy Father's Day to all fathers out there anyway.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.