Acceptance in Help Me Please

Revised: 08/14/2022 8:42 a.m.

  • Aug. 14, 2022, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I need to just accept me for who and what I am and just live life the best I can. Although the one thing I will do for me is lose my weight because that is for me and no one else. I think the only people who really care are my parents and it’s all for the health reasons. And they are right. But no matter how and what I look like they will always love me.
They say anything in life that you want to do is always hard work and it’s always for a life time and it’s even harder to maintain all that work. They say slow and steady wins the race and that is always the way to go.
Here is a question for you? When you first met your significant other did you try to change them? Like if they had what you thought was an ugly beard? You tried to tell them to trim it and keep it manageable? Or his mustache? I did that. Because something that is manageable is a lot easier to maintain and keep. And I am forever telling my son to do the same but I think his reason is because he doesn’t have what to use because of his money situation and I am guessing it’s not a high priority for him. But maybe one day he will realize what is important and what isn’t.

Onto something else....

For the last while I have been wondering about the big bang theory and I just found out who created it and so far what I read is very interesting.
This is what I found …

https://www.amnh.org/learn-teach/curriculum-collections/cosmic-horizons-book/georges-lemaitre-big-bang
I do know it’s still not a fact but maybe one day it will be.
I also learned something else…
I learned that air can be tested. I have no idea of how it’s done but hubby’s work place tests almost everything…Air, water, dirt, food fish and biology things. His job is to get these samples ready for the people to test them and he has even cut up fish to be tested. I find his job very interesting and I am learning more and more everyday. And this is the first job he actually likes and they treat him better then the other places he has worked and it’s not so hard on his body but his brain has to do more work. And he has been at this place for 5 years and they treat him really well. And I have even met some of his bosses and have talked to them for different reasons. And they have met me also. I think when he retires they will miss him but I am hoping they will let him work part time just so he has something to do. I know I can’t imagine him being a greeter at Walmart. He is just not a real people person and has no patience for Walmart people. I know I don’t have the patience for them and I am there a lot.

Onto something else…

Well, it’s that time where I need to stop here…
Do have a great day…
Be Kind, Be Calm, Be Safe and Behave.


Last updated August 14, 2022


Beret August 14, 2022

To answer your question, no, I did not try to change my SO. Why would I do that? Why would you do that? Here's something to consider, what appears to be manageable to you may not be manageable to the person you are trying to change. What you think is important may not be important to someone else. Think about it.

Jodie Beret ⋅ August 14, 2022

Like I said to the above person. I think it has something to do with the family dynamics and what their expectations are.

Anaiss August 14, 2022

I would never tell anyone else what to do with their personal appearance. I can't even imagine thinking that my opinion about their personal appearance choice is more important or "better" than their own opinion. If something about a potential partner bothered me and I couldn't tolerate it or support them in their choice, then I would find a different partner. And OMG who am I to tell my daughter (or anyone else) what to do with her hair, her makeup, her style, whatever? It would be like, who do I think I am to tell anyone what to do? What is important to you isn't necessarily important to anyone else. It does seem like you think everyone wants your opinion and your "expert" advice.

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ August 14, 2022

I think it has a lot to do with the family dynamics and people like my parents and they think my son should be clean shaven and not look like a terrorist. And he does because he does not maintain his beard and it always looks sloppy. Hubby on the other hand always makes sure he is clean shaven and his mustache trimmed

Anaiss August 14, 2022 (edited August 14, 2022)

Edited

But it doesn't matter what your parents think, does it? He's a grown man and if that's what he wants to look like, it's his choice and nobody else's business. In my opinion (not that you asked), you should be telling your son, "Son, you know I don't like your beard. I wish you would trim it. But it's your choice and I love you either way."

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ August 14, 2022

I have said that and all he says is "meh" but I know he doesn't have the money for that and he won't ask so he is stuck with those looks from my parents and other family.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.