Lunch for Monday, 10/7/13 in Fud

  • Oct. 8, 2013, 3:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lunch for Monday, 10/7/13

Clockwise from top left:

  • tuna salad (tuna, mayonnaise)
  • homemade shredded wheat bread
  • basil

  • European cucumber
  • raw carrot sticks

  • canned peaches

  • clementine

    I baked bread this weekend and it came out just lovely - nice, tall loaves that are soft and moist. I took my recipe, which typically makes three loaves, and split it into two bread pans instead and ended up with some very tall bread. I think I might do this from now on as two loaves of bread is a reasonable amount to use up before it goes moldy, our biggest issue here.

    I did a ton of cooking over the weekend so we should have some decent leftovers for quick lunch prep this week.

    CONCLUSION: Nothing left but the clementine peel. Two thumbs up!


    Lunch for Monday, 10/7/13

    Clockwise from top left:

  • homemade shredded wheat bread
  • peanut butter
  • strawberry jam
  • European cucumber
  • raw carrot sticks

  • chocolate chip granola bar
  • clementine

    The Lunch Wars continue - the packed lunches going to school are still coming home half or a third eaten which is frustrating as hell. I am concerned about my son not having the taste for vegetables any more, no doubt a product of five years of public school cafeteria lunches full of processed food products. That's my explanation as his sister will eat anything we send with her while he is very picky indeed.

    I finally had a talk with him and told him that sometimes we need to eat the things that are good for us even if they're not our favorites. I eat a huge salad for lunch every day and I certainly don't do it because I enjoy big mouthfuls of plain lettuce. Essentially I told him to suck it up and deal.

    I accept that at school he may not eat as healthfully as I'd like, hence why we are sending him with pb&j for the time being as we know he'll eat that and not give us the old chestnut, "It was too dry/cold/I didn't like X on it/I'm not really into that right now." Fine, pb&j, kid. At home, however, I'm making sure that the kids each eat a piece of fruit with breakfast, and at dinner we have a green salad before we eat the protein and carbohydrate. I dunno, maybe I put too much thought into this, but I really want both kids to grow up with a healthy view of food and some solid positive eating habits.

    Today he's going on a hike with his class and so I packed easily-portable items in a sturdy steel bento box. I always feel I'm not giving him enough as a growing ten year old boy but he may not even finish this. I'm sure things will change when he's a teenager and I won't be able to keep food in the house.

    CONCLUSION: Granola bar was eaten, 3/4 of the sandwich was eaten, and one carrot stick was eaten. He ate a couple more carrot sticks and one of the cucumber bits before dinner. The clementine was sadly ignored. He was "so hungry" by the time we had dinner tonight, standing at my elbow asking me when dinner would be ready every ten minutes. Grumble.


    Here, in case you're curious about what I have for lunch...

    Lunch

    This is pretty typical for me. I eat a huge salad every day which consists roughly of the following:

  • 1 c lettuce
  • 1 c sprouts
  • 1/4 c shredded carrots
  • 1/4 c diced tomato
  • 1/4 c diced bell pepper
  • 1/4 c chick peas
  • 1/2 to 1 hard boiled egg
  • 1/4 c cottage cheese
  • 1/4 to 1/2 c chicken breast

    Once in a while I'll get a few croutons or some shredded cheese. I don't eat dressing. I try to get a lot of protein in there, especially days like today when I'm going to see the personal trainer. If I don't get enough substance I end up feeling weak and terrible.

    I discovered that putting my salad on a wrap constitutes a "sandwich" and as such I don't have to weigh it and get charged by the ounce any more. That saves me a ton of money ($3 instead of ~$6) and, hey, bonus wheat wrap. I might eat half of it, if that - the thing is huge.

    It bothers me when people comment on the size of my salads. They're mostly lettuce and sprouts but they look ridiculous and I hate being made to feel gluttonous over raw veggies and proteins.


  • Mandy H. October 08, 2013

    Good luck with your son. I was a picky eater my entire life up until a few years ago (and as a kid I was a horrid little snot about it), and there are still some foods that I can't handle. Mostly it's a texture thing. It sounds like your kid's just going through a phase, though, so hopefully he'll snap out of it.

    Your salad looks amazing. I need more salad in my life.

    Jane Says Mandy H. ⋅ October 08, 2013

    I hate making salad so I am ever so grateful to have a salad bar at work. It definitely makes it easier!

    I don't know what's up with my kid - he used to eat everything but now like any other 10-year old he wants sweets as much as possible. I figure it'll be a slow progression back to a more vegetable-heavy diet, so I try to cut him some slack.

    You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.