The end of that. in A small but passable life.

  • Aug. 6, 2022, 3:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Apparently the park’s landline phone system finally went tits up. How long ago I know not. I was informed in person that all that was on the line was a busy signal. This was of course planned by the park for years. Instead of officially pulling the plug on the system they just let it deteriorate into non-functionality. I have been rather curious as to why I wasn’t getting any robo or telemarketer calls.

First the free basic cable and now the free landline.

I bagged up all three phones and the paraphernalia associated with said phones and stashed them in the ever present give-to-charity pile.

I have no idea how the gate situation will work now. And I have no numbers for anyone I know in the park. I’d always just used the park directory and the lot number was the four digit number to call anyone in the park.

I’m going to miss playing games with the randos who called on the landline. It was good for a giggle or two. My all time favorite was, after saying “Hello” and listening to their opening spiel, was to say “Hello” again, in a slightly louder voice. It was fifty-fifty whether they’d hang up or start the spiel again. If they started the spiel again I’d let them get halfway then hang up.

It’s the simple things in life that bring joy?

Another link to the outside world severed.

Breathe.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.