The timeless wisdom of Charles Schulz and “Peanuts” in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Aug. 4, 2022, 11:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Growing up in suburban NewOrleans in the 60s we always subscribed to the two local papers then, The Times-Picayune, the morning and Sunday paper, and the afternoon States-Item. Yes, there actually was a time when there were afternoon dailies in most major cities.

I started reading them both from around the age of 12 and something about those newspapers, and “the news” just drew me in. So much so that I made journalism my first career when I graduated from college in 1973 with an English major, a very sensible profession for a not-so-easily-marketable degree.

Everyone of a certain age remember those fat, multi-sectioned Sunday papers, with all the news, features, real estate, arts, opinion and sports in tidy sections of their own.

I can’t tell you how much I loved the Sunday paper. I avidly read them in whatever city I was living in for many years until the Internet came along and started making print newspapers obsolete.

I’m not saying I read them cover to cover, especially not massive treasure troves like the Sunday New York Times, but I savored them slowly, often with coffee and a glazed donut.

Online newspapers, which have revolutionized the news business, are the future and I enjoy them inordinately. But the old-fashioned printed paper, while always environmentally unfriendly, had a sense of gravitas and substance when you held it in your hand that you just can’t duplicate when staring at a laptop or phone screen.

But a curious thing when I was young and infatuated wih newspapers. I only read a few of the comic strips such as Blondie and Beetle Bailey, but never got that much into the greatest cartoon strip ever published, Peanuts, by it’s uniquely brilliant, wry, wise and very funny creator, Charles P. Schulz. I am not sure why this was so. I didn’t even read Doonesbury.

Decades went by and suddenly I seemed to wake up to the genius and wisdom of Schulz, whose keen social commentary and observations were always very current and timely, and shone through day after day for 50 years.

I started buying collections of his cartoons in book format, as well as books about the strip. On some of the most difficult evenings when I was a caregiver for my mother, I could always retreat to the sofa in the living room and smile indulgently at the misadventures of poor old Charlie Brown, Lucy, Linus, Schroeder, Sally, Woodstock, Snoopy and a cast of other memorable characters.

Some of mysll-time favorite strips featured the Peanuts characters in school, doing homework, writing themes,giving presentations and having the experiences we all relate to and remember about school.

https://www.gocomics.com/comics/lists/1626962/peanuts-in-the-classroom

I’m very grateful that finally in my advancing years, I truly discovered Peanuts for the first time.

I’ve bought my share of Peanuts special publications and mementoes such as these two favorites:

C2990814-B996-4998-9-A81-B639-CC5-F85-F4

And this:

6-B306218-CB87-4908-9323-E825395-D5333


Last updated August 05, 2022


Jinn August 05, 2022

Peanuts was the only comic I liked .

Oswego Jinn ⋅ August 06, 2022

It’s my favorite now!!

Jinn Oswego ⋅ August 06, 2022

:-)

Newzlady August 05, 2022

Classic!

Oswego Newzlady ⋅ August 06, 2022

Truly!!

Deleted user August 06, 2022

I like to say it was Lou Grant who first turned me on to journalism, but really, it might have been Brenda Starr.

I loved most of the strips in Newsday. The only ones I skipped were Family Circle, which I thought was vapid, and the other non Brenda Starr soap opera strips. My favorites were Peanuts (of course--I had EVERYthing Snoopy as a kid, even an electric toothbrush), Bloom County, Cathy, Garfield, Wizard of Id, Andy Capp, and Blondie. Later on came Baby Blues, Dilbert, and, second only to Peanuts, Calvin and Hobbes.

Peanuts will always be my number one. I had a collection of hardcover Peanuts that was an anthology of the paperback books up to that point. There were two volumes per hardcover, and half of each book was printed upside down. I read those until the bindings fell apart. Even now, have Peanuts coffee table books, like Snoopy's Guide to the Writing Life and Peanuts: The Art of Charles M. Schulz. Also, I feel the urge to buy a vintage copy of Home Is On Top of a Dog House.

Thanks for the trip down Memory Lane!

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ August 08, 2022

You are so right: saying “Family Circle” was a “vapid” comic is being quite charitable. It was perhaps the most wincable one of all. (I think I might have made up a new word). LOL

I loved Calvin & Hobbes, Herman, Drabble, and Ziggy. I used to pin Ziggy comics on my bulletin board at work. I have the huge 3-Vol. collected C&H strips.

I’m so glad you are a big Peanuts fan. Here are some titles you may or may not have:

  • Only What’s Necessary: Charles M. Schulz and the Art of Peanuts

  • The Peanuts Book: A Visual History of the Iconic Conic Strip

  • The Peanuts Papers: Writers and Cartoonists on Charlie Brown, Snoopy & the Gang, and the Meaning of life (A special publication of The Library of America)

music & dogs & wine August 07, 2022

My mom (who passed when I was 7) LOVED Peanuts, especially Snoopy. I have two Snoopy magnets of hers on my fridge to this day, I think they are from the 70's.

I remember watching the movies when I was little and all the "whom whom whom" voices of the adults. I don't know which one it was but I remember them riding an escalator in a department store and Lucy wanting some platform shows.

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ August 07, 2022

Peanuts is just so much a part of our lives, more so now than ever before for me

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.