The miracle of each flower in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • July 28, 2022, 3:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The moment one gives close attention to anything, even a blade of grass, it becomes a mysterious, awesome, indescribably magnificent world in itself.


Henry Miller

If we could see the miracle of a single flower clearly, our whole life would change.


Buddha




Over the decades that I have been living in Charleston, I have become more and more enamored of photographing flowers, especially since some of the world’s most famous gardens are located only a short drive from where I live. I visit Magnolia Gardens most often, sometimes several times in a month. I was there yesterday well before noon to beat the heat. It was well worth the effort in this extremely hot summer of 2022. There are numerous live oaks scattered throughout the garden which provides the necessary shade.

Year round I can walk the paths and take pictures, which I do almost every day. It’s a continually unfolding opportunity to witness the almost indescribable beauty of flowers. I am also close to a city park whose gardens are carefully cultivated with flowers that thrive in each season of the year. Sometimes I am simply in awe when walking at the park after heavy rains, especially since it resembles a botanical garden at those times, so many are the varieties of flowers in bloom.

I keep cut flowers in my apartment year round. When I was taking care of my mother, there was nothing she loved more. Whenever I’d come in the house with a big bouquet of flowers, her face would light up with happiness. That’s what flowers did for her, and for me. They made us happy. I’m carrying on the tradition, and while not a gardener like she was, I appreciate their beauty as if I had grown the flowers myself.

Some recent flower photos from the parks and gardens near me.

Some special flowers including closeups:
https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/8301ZczumY

A visit to Magnolia Gardens, July 27, 2022

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/46J22de2m5


Last updated July 28, 2022


music & dogs & wine July 29, 2022

Absolutely gorgeous! Do you know what the red spiky one is? I love it!

Awww sweet turtle! I had 2 red eared sliders, they are so cool!

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ July 29, 2022

It is center of a purple coneflower!

music & dogs & wine Oswego ⋅ July 29, 2022

Thank you for telling me :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.