Schizophrenia…. in Two chicks talking while having coffee

  • July 15, 2022, 4:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Man,

My heart is breaking for my friend Cathy.

She’s a hard worker, dealt a bum deal.
Married a guy who pretended to be okay but turned out to have schizophrenia and now after 20 years secularly divorced, they can’t find him so he can sign the religious one.

He just spazzed. And she raised two kids, one a teacher now in Nola. And the son is 22ish and diagnosed about 18 months ago with paranoid schizophrenia. He refuses to take meds and is becoming disturbing. Anyway… she asked me to have coffee and I can’t go out now…. So I invited her to come over. And then I invited her for dinner…. So she’s supposed to be here within an hour but she just texted me her son can’t find her car keys.

I mean.

Honestly, it’s time she not lend him a vehicle.

But that’s damn hard.

Like dang.

I just wish I could help all the people who struggle with their kids. I want to make the world better for them and their kids.

I have a feeling since she said things are heating up that she’s about ready for the police and advocate to come and help assist in removing him and having him evaluated and placed. Hardest thing a parent has to do.


KittyGotClawz July 15, 2022

That is heartbreaking!

Ferret Mom July 16, 2022

That's about the age schizophrenia starts, late teens to early 20's. Imagine having a family member who has been normal for 20 or so years, and then BAM!

When I was in high school I was friends with a guy whose mom was schizophrenic. She was fine when she was on her meds, you couldn't tell anything was wrong, she was sweet. Well, she got involved in one of those churches that can be pretty out there, and people at her church would convince her that if she was truly a good Christian she could manage her schizophrenia through God and prayer, no meds. So she'd go off her meds, think witches and ghosts were after her family, and have to go spend a few months in a psych ward. She'd get out and be OK for a while, then the cycle would repeat again. Her kids had to grow up with that, and her idiot church friends should have minded their own business.

Cathy has been through a lot. And it sucks that her ex hid his diagnosis from her until after they were married.

Stumble Bee 🐝 Ferret Mom ⋅ July 16, 2022

Church us fucked up. For sure.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.