Wicked Weekend Part 4; it better be the last in shiny things

  • June 11, 2014, 9:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can not believe how long this is taking me. My usual excuse is being so busy at work, which means A) no time for entries at work and B) no energy left for entries at home. So, C) this really needs to be it. So I can go on to writing other things and actually read everyone else's entries. This is taking longer than the actual trip took.

First, Wicked!

signs for wicked

Wicked was at the Gershwin theatre. Of course no photography was allowed so I don't have any pictures other than a few inside the (very very crowded) lobby.

alt text

alt text

The Gershwin Theatre - Wicked

Kim and I saw Wicked in London the first time we went, in 2010, but it was well worth seeing again. I really enjoyed it, and had forgotten quite a few things that happened. We had good seats, too, with excellent views of the stage.

We went to the 2:00 show, which left us plenty of time before and after to wander around.

walking around NYC

walking around NYC

walking around NYC

Grand Central Station!

grand central station

One thing I'm sorry we didn't do is ride the subway. Mostly because I remember it as being quite a (scary) thrill from 30 years ago, and also because I really loved riding the Tube in London. Kim and I used the Tube and our feet pretty much exclusively for traveling about in London. In NY, we took cabs, which was a lot quicker. Cousin J felt so icky most of the trip that we took cabs instead of walking quite a few times. But the subway would have been fun.

It rained a bit, despite being very sunny earlier.

drizzly New York

drizzly New York

We had dinner at the Franchia Vegan Cafe, which was REALLY REALLY delicious. "Asian Fusion" and a lot of gluten-free offerings, which was why we went-- Cousin E avoids gluten so it was easy to find plenty of things she could eat there. We got a bunch of different things and passed them around. Mostly noodle dishes, plus Bibimbap, which is a Korean dish consisting of a bowl full of rice with assorted toppings. Oddly I can't remember which one we had, but it was gingery and delicious. The only slightly disappointing dish was Cousin E's gluten-free Pad Thai, which sadly was also kind of taste-free. It didn't seem to have much sauce on it at all. But the rest was great. As were the mixed drinks. Somehow I managed not to take ANY pictures of it.

Then we went on back to the hotel. A few night pictures:

night in NYC

empire state building in mist

empire state building in mist

night in NYC

Back at the hotel, the !!!!!INSANELY LOUD BAND!!!!! was at it again, and there was a party of sorority girls using the penthouse as well --- but I slept right through it this time.

And did I finish this off???? Of course not! There will be ONE MORE ENTRY. Maybe even tomorrow.


Satine June 11, 2014

hahaha, I love these, however quickly (or not) they come :) Stunning photos as always.

Lyn June 11, 2014

Wicked good entry and pictures.

elaine2 June 11, 2014

Guess it's lucky I live in the stix. I love your photos, but I would never enjoy being around so many people.

I must look up a recipe for bibimbap. Sounds like something I would enjoy :)

ermentrude June 11, 2014

I love your photo with the reflection of the older building in the newer one, I also love the empire state building with the clouds :-)

Ragdolls June 13, 2014

noko June 16, 2014

All that looking up. I shall need to develop a yoga practice for photographers in the big city. Wonderful building shots and so good to read that you enjoyed the musical the 2nd time. That is funny about entering reality again. Sometimes I wonder...

jamez June 16, 2014

From a photographic point American buildings are a strain on the neck, we could lie down but there are so many people walking about and looking up ……

All the same I did enjoy your photographs.

Spinster June 19, 2014

It looks like so much fun!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.