Red Ragtop in General

  • June 30, 2022, 10:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, the very first time her mother met me
Her green-eyed girl had been a mother-to-be for two weeks
I was out of a job and she was in school
And life was fast and the world was cruel
We were young and wild
We decided not to have a child
So we did what we did and we tried to forget
And we swore up and down there would be no regrets in the morning light
But on the way home that night
On the back of that red ragtop
She said, “Please don’t stop loving me”

I stay as far away from this argument as I can. I have been reckless, and I knew the implications. When I first became sexually active in the early 80s we heard the briefings and ignored them. I was married before AIDS became a thing.

As fun as sex is, it comes with responsibly. Evolutionally speaking there really is only one reason for sex: procreation.

The current Roe V Wade horse show is pure emotional propaganda. The Court ruled on the merits in front of it. Regardless of if you think you have a “right” to an abortion, the Roe ruling was total shit law. Everyone from Jack McCoy and Arthur Branch on Law and Order to the notorious RBG knew it was shit law, based on nothing.

The correct way to ensure the right to an abortion was to add a constitutional amendment. Then there would be no doubt.

Idiotic screaming about having a constitutional right removed when said right never existed is nothing but a culling of the idiots from the herd.

“Constitutional Rights” are the first ten amendments to the constitution.

I am on board with Clinton. Abortion should be legal, safe and rare.

I personally find it morally reprehensible, especially murdering a child for personal convenience. But I am also enough of a pragmatist to know it is occasionally the only answer to a thousand questions.

It doesn’t make it taste any sweeter. I am nauseated by the “I had an abortion and I am proud” assholes.
You should be mortified that your life choices forced you into that corner, and that certainly includes the sperm donor.

I generally stay out of this conversation. I am a 59 years old man, who has had a vasectomy.

I literally have zero input into this shrieking turmoil.

It allows me a distance. I can see Roe V Wade, Griswold V Connecticut, Planned Parenthood V Casey for what they were – dispassionate legal arguments.

But Roe was shit law. I’ve only had five law classes across three degrees and I recognize that.

The ruling did not take away any fundamental right, let alone a constitutional right. It shoved the problem back on the states where it belongs.

Vastly too many people in the US , and most of the people on social media have no clue about how this country was founded and existed for two centuries. We are a cooperative group of independent states. Everything that is not expressed as a function of the federal government is reserved to the state, and the people.

All said, the song breaks my heart every time I hear it.

I was stopped at a red light just yesterday beside a young girl in a cabriolet
And her eyes were green, and I was in an old scene
I was back in that red ragtop
On the day she stopped loving me
I was back in that red ragtop
On the day she stopped loving me…


Last updated June 30, 2022


woman in the moon June 30, 2022

Who stopped loving who(m) is always a hard question.

Always.

woman in the moon June 30, 2022

Who wrote those lyrics?

Duke woman in the moon ⋅ June 30, 2022

Jason White

Telstar June 30, 2022

Well said.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.