Wanted Dead or Alive in General

  • June 30, 2022, 2:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know what the hell is happening with me. Oddly satisfied with life.
Today is my Saturday. Yesterday I walked 18900 steps at work. I was in Sporting Goods, which meant every trip to “associates central” was damn near a quarter mile. 18900 steps is a little over 9 miles.

I arrived home wired for sound. Something about that 0445 double dose of frog fuel and coffee.

I went about cleaning and organizing. I love when I get in that zone because it only happens a few times a year.

I have been dissatisfied with the organization of my under-sink and linen closets upstairs.

Habit being when you move in, you just shove anything anywhere to get it out of the way.

Problem being I have been here for 10 years. What was I hoping for, organizing fairies to fix that shit?

Issue attended to. I am pleased.

Next onto the bedroom windows. I sleep in the afternoon, get up at 8pm (2200 if you are so inclined.) The bedroom windows face west, full sun.

For a month I had the windows covered in aluminum foil. But just like I learned the last time (35 years ago) I worked the Vampire shift; foil develops creases and starts leaking light.

And THAT shit will not stand.

I ordered blackout film and after hours of carefully cutting to size and applying found myself quite dissatisfied. Light was still leaking out all over the place.

Lightbulb over head moment.

I realized I had a bunch of gym matting. These things are puzzle-pieced at the edges, so I went about blocking all the light leaks. My bedroom is now as dark as Satan’s Asshole. The only light being the alarm clock and the power supply for the air conditioner.

I went back to Wally world last night, late. Right as they were closing. One of the benefits of a day working in Sporting Goods was I knew where to find the compression wraps.

The job is very physical. Two days ago I moved a hundred sixty pound bags of flour (3x20# shrink wrapped.)

Repetitive motion injury, no doubt. My right elbow had been aching for days, but it was starting to get serious. Compression wrap solves that shit post haste.

Stupidly, I found myself wondering if I shouldn’t just go ahead and join Ship City Fitness.
It is satisfying to lift heavy.

The pipes are back in the forearms. I can flex and put 30 year old me to shame. Not the 25 year old me though. Not going to see that body again.

In the month I have been working again I have lost ten pounds. Walking 5-10 miles a night, go figure. I am fighting random aches. Last week I had a hip-ache that almost put me on the floor. I powered through, got home and leaned on a heating pad.

Talk about stupid. I started pondering maybe working through my “weekend” once a month. An extra sixteen hours at time and a half. I have no doubt they would be happy to have me. They are screaming for people. I just don’t know if I can work two straight weeks. But that is 500 bucks extra per pay period.

Nothing to sneeze at.


woman in the moon June 30, 2022

Nothing as satisfying as having a job.

Jinn June 30, 2022

You are back in the working world :-)

Telstar June 30, 2022

I'd really like the exercise aspect of working.

I wouldn't like having to be on the job when THEY wanted me to be there.

Duke Telstar ⋅ June 30, 2022

Heh! I am being paid to work out. Every time I find myself slipping into problem solving mode I think "Not my monkeys, not my circus..."

I thought the Navy found unique ways to be inefficient. The USN can't hold a candle to Wally World!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.