work, rats, and sickness in The Daily (2014)

  • June 10, 2014, 9:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

haven't written in a while, and I've been terrible about noting- though I have been reading a bit when I can find time! I've just been so busy.

Work is going well. I didn't get the coaching position but Merlin (yes, that is actually his name, I know), who is the FM, approached me the first day I was back after I was turned down for the job, and said that he wanted to see me become coach but they had ultimately settled on Diana and Louis because they had each passed their first pay band. He said that they wanted to work on getting me up to my next pay band as quickly as possible so that they can start me on coach training. So that was good. Then I proceeded to to 0 for 3 days haha. I pulled through at the end of the week though. Ahhh, enough talking about work. This is a weird job- it infiltrates your psyche and suddenly it becomes this major thing that you talk about all the time and no one else /really/ understands because it is all so weird. Anyways.

Liz is starting her training at PO tomorrow, which I have mixed feelings about. One, I am worried she won't be able to pass her evaluation because she can be socially weird sometimes. Two, I feel awkward about working with her- I worry we do /too/ much together, you know? But, if she got hired, though, it would take a lot of stress off.

we're all moved into our new place. But it is turning out to be... a mixed bag... I love being near so much greenspace. We've been able to go for hikes, and long long walks in the forest just out back of our place. I've been able to go sit out in the front with a book in the sun, which has been heavenly. And the bus we are on is super convenient- all along hastings, making it really accessible to most of the interesting places in Vancouver. And having a dishwasher is awesome. Seriously, guys, it is awesome.

BUT, and this is a big fucking BUT, we discovered we have rats!!!!! Like, big mother fucking rats! We have these flourescent lights in the bedroom with a big square plastic covers on them, that are, obviously, somewhat transparent. The other day I was laying in bed and Liz was standing up by the door practising her rap with me for work when suddenly I saw a dark shadow scurry above us. I looked out and saw clearly the outline of a giant fucking rat sitting on the light cover. It then scurried out of view and another giant fucking rat scurried on. I had heard scurring noises before at night, but I assumed it was racoons outside our window. It never occured to me that we could be sharing out home with rats :/ We called the landlady and, for her part, she seemed shocked. She says she is going to get right on fixing the problem. But I am still really grossed out. I have been sick for the past few days and it has definitely been exacerbated by my tendancy to wake up every few minutes thinking I am hearing rats scurrying about :(

On that note, being sick is stressful as an adult. My brother offered to pay my airfare to go to belize with my sister and mom in mid July, but that means missing 2 weeks of work. I am supposed to be working extra to make up for it, but I have spent the last two days of work laying in bed feeling miserable. I am a bit better now, but will I be better enough tomorrow to spend 8 hours standing outside in the rain talking to people? I don't know. Being sick is the pits :(


Miso Honey June 11, 2014

I had to try and read this a couple times. I had difficulties getting past that someone is actually named Merlin.

theocean. June 11, 2014

I live in the country so a ton of field mice get into the house. Mice? Those are cute enough and I'll catch them to release them without fear... But it's still gross. Rats? OMG, no, that's... No. I hope it's taken care of ASAP.

Deleted user July 02, 2014

belize sounds delightful.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.