Bollywood Hawaii in Magical Realism

  • June 11, 2014, 8:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thursday - worked downtown, did Tabata high intensity intervals class, then vinyasa yoga right afterwards. Showered, went home, and A had made quinoa salad for us with radishes, avocado, and cucumber.

Friday - did a volunteer event with our interns, with pizza for lunch, but A had made me a really nice salad with radishes, baby spinach, baby kale, grilled steak, and fresh lemon, so I ate that. Very tasty! It was a short day, but afterward I had to go up to Times Square to pick up some stuff for my mom. I wanted to go to yoga afterwards and had even packed my bag, but had some time before the next class, so went home to drop off the stuff. I lay down and was completely knocked out by allergies. I even found this amazing show, Little Women: LA on Hulu and could not even stay awake for that! A went to a happy hour until about 8pm, by that time I had been asleep for like 3 hours! He came home, I woke up a bit and we watched some Orange is the New Black, and I passed out until like 3pm Saturday afternoon.

I really wanted to watch the Belmont Stakes, but again could not muster to get out of bed. A ducked out to the local sports bar for like 15 minutes to catch the race, then picked up some food. We ate, watched a bit more OITNB and then went to sleep. On Sunday I slept in until like 3pm that day too, but got dressed to go to an open house in Chelsea at 5pm. Really wild space, couple had been living there for 40 years - the building itself seems like kind of a handful but definitely has potential. Amazing high ceilings, top floor, great location. Unique, but I go back and forth. Anyway. After that we walked home and got 16 Handles on the way. I got a mix of sorbets but should have gone with the Birthday Cake flavor. Went home, took a shower, went to sleep. Allergies knocked me out practically the whole weekend!

Monday was back to work - I worked from home to take delivery of A's new computer, very exciting. Around 5pm I started getting ready to go out - showered, blowdried, make-uped, put on a black cocktail dress and red peeptoe heels. Brought out my super-cute half-moon WOC clutch instead of a massive totebag for once - score! Took subway up to the NYPL to meet A for the New York Public Library's Young Lions Fiction Awards. Lots of wine, a little bit of cheese, and most of the cast of Boardwalk Empire, but not Steve Buscemi.!

From left to right: Guy from Boardwalk Empire, Michael K. Williams (Chalky on BE, Omar from The Wire), Gretchen Mol (who is in a lot of things, but always looks like she's from the flapper era), annoying moderator girl, (who luckily didn't talk much, unlike the time she "interviewed" Joan Didion and didn't let her get a word in edgewise!) Kelly MacDonald (PRINCESS MERIDA!!!) and Arnold Rothstein from BE.)

alt text

Each of the actors read a passage from the nominated books. The readings were okay, it was obvious most of them hadn't put too much time into preparing. The book I was rooting for won, so that was good, and we took home four free books, which was awesome!

After the event we walked crosstown through Bryant Park into Times Square. It was less hectic than usual and the moon over the Chrysler Building was really beautiful. We took the subway downtown and went in search of food. We decided on a spot near our apartment - it has changed names/themes a bunch in the past couple of years, and we hadn't had their food yet in this incarnation.

Very weirdly, Dave, one of A's best friends from his hometown was waiting tables there! Dave is an actor (supports himself with waitering and commercials mostly, but does a ton of wacky performance art/theater.) Dave is kind of random and goes on and off the grid a lot, so A had no idea he was even working there...and it's like a block from our house! We had drinks and a spot of dinner (tuna crudo, ridiculously good Balthazar bread, and scallops with charred ramps and some sort of puree.) Dave was done for the night so after he finished he sat down with us for a glass of wine. After dinner I figured I'd let them chat, so I said goodbye, went home, washed up, and went online. I ordered a wig, colorful hair extensions, and a sequined costume. (Because I am a drag queen.) Went to sleep.

Yesterday I worked from home, and ate pretty much everything we had in the house. I made crepes twice, from whole wheat flower, an egg, chocolate milk, and cinnamon. In late afternoon I ate baby carrots, tuna cup, and drank Java Monster, a canned coffee energy drink that we'd gotten in a swag bag from some event like 6 months ago. It was pretty good! Went to the rowing circuit class (my favorite) and power flow yoga (my yoga favorite.)

Took a shower at the gym, and headed to the grocery store. Got a watermelon, blueberries, purple cabbage, and red apples. I was getting green apples for A when he came up behind me. Ha! We got flour, tumeric, Siggi's yogurt, eggs, and on a whim, I got some textured vegetable protein. I got some canned tomatoes and beans with idea of making a chili type dish with it, will see how that goes. Apparently you can also make taco filling, veggie burgers, and even pseudo-oatmeal with this stuff - I can never get enough protein so am very intrigued.

We went home and A cut up the watermelon while I did some work. The watermelon was so good and we were tired so we just ate the watermelon. Not the best idea! A made us each a protein shake too, but I still don't think that was enough food.

Went to bed too late, woke up this morning a bit before 7am. Went through our mail, washed dishes, and made us salads for lunch. A's had grilled chicken, baby kale, some sort of bibb lettuce, carrots, and cucumbers with the skin on. Mine had a little bit of grilled chicken, half an avocado, carrots, kale/lettuce, and cucumber with skin peeled. (The lettuce, cucumber and avo were all on their last legs so needed to be used ASAP!) Got washed up/dressed/ready for work, ate two fried eggs, and got to the office a bit after 8. Had a call at 8:30am and am now eating a red (gala!) apple and drinking iced green tea.


dickson. June 11, 2014

Power flow yoga makes me it's bitch. I love it too, though!

Steve Buscemi <3

Leslie Bruce June 11, 2014

This entry made me hungry.

Deleted user June 11, 2014

You're eating such healthy food these days!! Do you and A have a car? Is it common for people there not to have one? Cool about your friend Dave being so nearby - he sounds like he has an interesting life!

Satine Deleted user ⋅ June 11, 2014

We don't have a car - I would think less than 5% of people in Manhattan do, it is more annoying to have one than to use public transport/cabs/car service. You can always zipcar or rent a car if you want to leave the city, but why? ;)

And yeah, Dave - he's an interesting character.

Deleted user Satine ⋅ June 11, 2014

Yeah zipcar's good. Haha, well I can see that you don't need to leave the city by car - you just do it by plane!! :)

I've heard one of the concepts for the future is that when all cars are driverless, nobody will own a car, you just 'hail' one when you need it, it takes you where you want to go, and then goes to the next person. Like a taxi I guess. So basically there would be no cars sitting in parking lots or driveways. I like it!

nightborn June 11, 2014

I'm curious about the Chelsea building - handful as in has a quirky coop board, or as in lots of deferred maintenance?

Also, I want to know what the wig and sequins are for. :)

Jigger June 11, 2014

I love reading what you write about food. It all sounds so good, and I just don't feed myself that way! But I should. Or just, you know, follow MFK around some more. I think of you when we eat things like yucca fries in aioli sauce with our Cuban pork sandwiches. It feels all fancy. ;)

BlueEyedDevil June 11, 2014

I am making notes based on your food reports. Yum! ;)

sarahbaby. June 11, 2014

I have a sweet four ingredient meal for you! I make pizzas with pita, pesto, mushrooms and goat's cheese! If you get amazing tasty quality ingredients, it's delicious. Especially the pesto, it has to be the best kind.

I wanna be a drag queen!

Deleted user June 11, 2014

i love TVP in vegetarian chili. it's bomb. oatmeal seems iffy though. maybe oatmeal cookies!

Satine Deleted user ⋅ June 11, 2014

Does it have a flavor? They said with cinnamon/nutmeg but if there is a meaty taste I feel like that would be weird. Send recipes if you have some good ones - sounds like you might!

Deleted user Satine ⋅ June 14, 2014

there's no real flavor, but something about the texture seems like it would be weird in oatmealy things. but i could be wrong! i also don't really have any good recipes - basically i just dump it into chili and sometimes soup for extra protein. :)

Satine Deleted user ⋅ June 15, 2014

Okay, so I tried the TVP as "oatmeal" yesterday and it was solid! Just put boiling water on until the right consistency, it was a little watery so I added a dash of real oats. Shook on a ton of cinnamon, put in some blueberries and it was pretty good! I would eat it again, for sure.

Deleted user Satine ⋅ June 16, 2014

oooh! happy to have been wrong. i will give it a try!

Satine Deleted user ⋅ June 16, 2014

I hope you like it! Let me know what you think if/when you try. I am not a very picky eater so my perception may be skewed...A tried some too and liked it okay (didn't love it though), and he is kind of picky.

Miso Honey June 11, 2014

I love Kelly MacDonald!

What books did you get?

Satine Miso Honey ⋅ June 11, 2014

Snow hunters, Paul Yoon (winner) Happiness like water, Chinelo Okparanta A constellation of vital phenomena, Anthony Marra Cartwheel, Jennifer Dubois

Miso Honey Satine ⋅ June 12, 2014

Cool beans! I am off to see what those are all aboot.

hot-lips June 12, 2014

I'm loving the food entries also, it always makes me want to stuff my face. lol The book reading sounds cool, especially seeing some famous people. Hope you're feeling better re your allergies.

aglow June 12, 2014

How far are you into OITNB?! I'm cursing them for coming out with the new season in not winter, because the weather is so NOT worthy of binge-watching. We're on episode 6 & I'm so stoked that it's still just as delectably addicting as the first season.

dancerd September 18, 2014

:)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.