Wonderful weekend in At the foot of the hill

  • June 23, 2022, 4:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

in Colorado as we got to take part in our eldest grandchild Ben’s wedding. I promised him I’d be there, one way or another, and dance at his wedding. And I really did, if you can call it dancing, pushing a walker and shuffling along. It was so fun and so beautiful. My whole family was there along with “partners”, except one fairly new member who just started a new job and didn’t feel quite ready to meet the whole tribe....
We left last Wednesday, riding with daughter. Her husband followed us with their daughter and 4-year-old Cecil later that same day. Their other daughter and her guy came a day later and we were all there in time for the rehearsal dinner Friday night. The other side of Ben’s family was pretty well represented as well and it was great to visit with them too.
The wedding Saturday evening was outside. We got to be ushered in and sat on the front row. I couldn’t keep the tears in when the scripture was read because it was the same one that we recited at our wedding in 1958! And the white roses, although they had lots and LOTS more.
The reception was fun with a wonderful dinner. The Best Man, our other grandson, did his part with toasting his brother and bride reminding some of us their shenanigans that occurred during their childhood days....
The cocktail hour came next with lots of toasting and renewing old acquaintances. No alcohol for Papa and me, doctors’ orders.
The venue for the dancing was an open structure and it got a little windy, and before the evening was over, we needed to go to our hotel. Found out later the Last Dance was called a few short minutes later, so we didn’t miss much.
Daughter-in-law had all the family for brunch Sunday. The Bride & Groom opened their gifts from us. I was so glad to see Ben’s reaction to mine. He had told me he’d like to have one of my paintings. After pondering that request, I chose to give them my pastel of a single columbine, thinking it was appropriate since he went to high school at Columbine. Along with that I included one of HIS paintings (drawing, actually) that he did at my desk when he was about 9. I had kept it all these years. Rhonda (daughter) framed it for me. It was, as I hoped, a big surprise and he loved it. To complete the theme, Rhonda gave him a painting that my mom had done many years ago.
Shortly after the gifts were opened we climbed into the car and headed north, making it half-way. We were glad to get home and pretty tired. IT WAS WONDERFUL!!!!!


sadandlonelygirl June 23, 2022

That sounds like a great time. Congrats to your eldest grandchild!

MageB June 24, 2022

Oh yes, what a wonderful day that must have been. Dancing with your walker was still dancing. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.