First Official Day of Unemployment - 10.06.14 in Your Face

  • June 10, 2014, 3:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, my first official day of unemployment was today, as yesterday was a public holiday. I'd say it was a success.

I woke up at 8am, had some peanut butter on toast while I chopped vegetables and browned some beef chunks. Put the beef chunks in a covered dish in the oven, on low, and got myself showered and dressed.

Drove over to my sister's house and we drove about half an hour away to go to all-you-can-eat Pizza Hut with two other friends and their babies. That was fabulous, and we had a great time. Best of all, the lunch price was $10, and not $12.95 as I had thought.

Came back home and my beef was nice and soft. I went to see my neighbour and borrowed some mini spring form pans so I could turn the beef into pies.

Brought the garbage bins in and messed around online for a while, before finishing my pies off.

Mother arrived home and told me that she's decided that I don't need to pay any board to live here anymore (I only paid $50/week, and bought my own groceries, toiletries etc). I said that I plan to cook the evening meals and she said that was great, but she would be chipping in for those groceries. I guess we reached a compromise. I don't want to be a freeloader, but I am worried about money dwindling. This way I still feel helpful, plus I will make more effort with the little things like taking the bins in and out (seeing as my brother is incapable of doing this) and keeping the lawns trimmed.

Today I realised that I was starting to ... gasp ... relax! Despite the massive uncertainty hanging over me right now, I have no job occupying my every thought (which I take responsibility for, I give too much to my work and it makes my personal life suffer), I have nowhere that I must be, all I have to do now each day is to clean and feed myself, and do at least one thing every day to keep some purpose in my life. And, I have to wait.

I know, realistically, that I won't be waiting much longer. I am reaching the end of my rope, though. I'm just sick to death of it.


KissOfLife! June 10, 2014

That is nice of your mum :) Will help ya out a lot I'm sure. You've given me inspiration to try and make my own pies now! I'm hopeless with making anything pastry so I might have to google a recipe - yup even to do that :P

Rerrin June 11, 2014

This entry made me happy!

Miso Honey June 12, 2014

Hey, are least you are having a productive time while unemployed!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.