Pipe dream in Hello.

  • June 18, 2022, 2:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My little Corsa is going in for its MOT on Monday. It’s making a weird noise and I’m hoping it’s nothing too untoward. Fingers crossed. The service light keeps coming on as well (it’s on 54,000 miles) and with Vauxhalls, apparently they have a “power save” mode, which mine keeps going into. It takes about 5 days to accelerate to 60, it’s driving like a heavily smoking asthmatic at the moment. I get paid next week, but I’m worried it’s going to be a write off, and I don’t have much by way of savings.
I’ve decided my next vehicle is going to be bigger. I really don’t know why I thought a Corsa would be a good idea, because one of the main reasons I learnt how to drive 6 years ago was so we could go on more camping trips, which isn’t really practical in this tiny thing. There was a VW Caddy parked up at my work a few days ago and I thought it looked great, perfect for camping trips. The van itself is big enough to sleep in as well, so I could just bundle one or two of my kids or John in there and take off, without having to worry about accommodation. My dream car is a Defender, but I’m not a millionaire unfortunately!
I have this dream, I’m sure a lot of people do, of driving this van around Scotland for a few months, just parking up wherever and kipping in it. Obviously that won’t be happening while the kids are still at home though. Still have this dream of moving to or retiring in Scotland. I hear they have one or two distilleries up there I could potentially work in as well! 😉
I’m taking the kids through to Carlisle today. Eleanor loves going out for pancakes, but the previous 2 times she’s decided she wants them off the menu, they haven’t had them. We’ve found a lovely looking cafe that does them, fingers crossed she’ll get her pancakes today! We might go to the museum as well. Last time we were in Carlisle, we bought entry tickets, but it was due to shut in an hour. But we found out from another steward that the tickets last a full 12 months, so I’m thinking we could give it another go.
And I’ll probably come back with a budgie or 2 as well!!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.