Close encounters of the gator kind in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • June 8, 2022, 5:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

At a nearby Nature preserve, it can definitely get a bit close to Nature at times. There are alligators in the ponds along the path I was walking a couple of days ago. Normally I don’t see them. No one was around, and I had the place to myself on a beautiful late Spring day with a nice breeze off the surrounding marshes and river. All in all, a perfect day.

I tried out for the first time my portable folding chair that weighs about two pounds.  I set it up at my favorite spot on that path along the former rice ponds.  It was so relaxing out there with that very nice breeze.

When I packed up to leave about a half hour later, what do I see  but a 6 ft. alligator on the path 20 feet from where I had been sitting, unbeknownst to me.  

Oh Gee, I’d have to gingerly walk past him with about five feet of clearance, or else have to walk a half mile the other way to reconnect with the path back to the parking lot.  Foolishly, since I thought he looked asleep and mellowed out in the sun, I very slowly, and with mounting trepidation, walked past him, uneventfully, thank goodness, but thinking to myself, “This is a dumb thing to do,” but I had just the day before watched a guy with his pet gator all cuddly together.

Needless to say, I won’t be doing that again. When I had gotten past him I stopped to look back, and he was moving toward the water, his jaws opening in what I presumed was a sleepy yawn. “Good boy! Just stay right where you are while I get the heck out of here!”

This is yet another cautionary tale of my most recent Nature mis/adventure, but such is my life in the wilds.

Here he is:

https://flic.kr/p/2nqFEcr

And

https://flic.kr/p/2nqErqU


Last updated June 08, 2022


A Pedestrian Wandering June 08, 2022

Yikes!

Oswego A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ June 09, 2022

And how!!

Deleted user June 08, 2022

He had probably just eaten and was digesting the last person who walked past.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ June 08, 2022

My lucky day!!😅🥹

music & dogs & wine Deleted user ⋅ June 08, 2022

LMAO!

Newzlady June 08, 2022

Oh hell, I’d have needed more clearance than that!

Telstar June 08, 2022

How fast can alligators move?

I'd be scared if they can move quickly.

music & dogs & wine June 08, 2022

OMG you are BRAVE!!! A guy with a pet gator?? Really? They can be tamed to be pets? They sure are adorable when they are babies, but I think I would have to pass on keeping one as a pet!

ConnieK June 09, 2022

I had one lunge out of the water, snapping his jaws 3 or 4 feet away. He was after a fish but it scared me to death! 5 feet is too close.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ June 09, 2022

Yes, in looking back I should not have done that, but I am stubborn and I had my invisible gator force field activated! 🥹

Kristi1971 June 12, 2022

Oh my goodness, he's actually cute! But yeah, distance from those jaws is a good thing. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.