At work.... in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • June 7, 2022, 4:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s 4:12 am as I type this. It has been an extremely slow night at work, and I can’t finish my reports until six a.m., so I thought I would regale you with my thoughts.
Except I really have no thoughts to share this morning, ha ha.
I’m enjoying life away from the prison setting, and the new job is way less stressful. I’m out in the West Texas Desert now. I’m used to the humidity of the coastal areas I grew up in. My skin is so dry I could play a mummy without the make up. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets are the norm here. I guess at a certain age, any day you stick around and get to see both, they seem beautiful.
I don’t like the tumbleweeds, they scratched the paint on my SUV as they blow around. It’s always windy here. Got caught in my first dust storm. THAT was fun.
Summer hail storms are a thing. So are tarantulas, scorpions and rattlesnakes. As the weather warmed, I found out that they like to come out at night.
I’ve only run across one rattlesnake, and I saw him long before I got close. We have a pet roadrunner here as well. It hangs out around the office and will walk up to people because everyone feeds it. Probably too fat to run at this point.
Brian is having separation anxiety. I’m here for six weeks at a time and then drive back south for two weeks off. He hasn’t been away from me since he was a baby, and after his mother died I raised he and his brothers alone. He and his family are doing well, I know, because he calls me two or three times a day to chat. His big brother, on the other hand, sends me tik tok videos and facebook memes. At least they’re both thinking about me, each in their unique ways.
Anyway, this is part of my commitment to making sure I drop in and journal about my life, even if it’s banal at times. I like uninteresting times though. Too often an eventful life is eventful in the wrong ways.
I know that things happen; you lose people you love, friendships come and go, illnesses occur, and so on. The last year or so has been.....ordinary.
I really, really, like ordinary.
I’ve prattled long enough. I hope you all have a lovely morning, afternoon, or evening, depending on where you are on this little ball in space.
“See” you all soon - John


Telstar June 07, 2022

That West Texas is soooo lovely.........

Sort of.

I need tea. June 09, 2022

Xxx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.