Danger Zone in General

  • May 23, 2022, 6:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public


Tomorrow I transition from being a steely eyed dealer of death to a steely eyed stocker of shelves.

Fuck it, it’s 42k a year on top of my Navy retirement. And I’ve certainly had more difficult jobs in this lifetime.

Two days of orientation, then starting in earnest Saturday night. I should be able shift my sleeping schedule by then.

I spent a couple of hours online trying to find a mortgage amortization program, then finding a YouTube video. I followed along with dude moving fast on the left monitor while I was following along on the right monitor. Not for the faint of heart.

But. Pretty damn cool because you can run scenarios and see how extra payments effect the loan balance. For at least 2 years I will be paying 2/3 of my new income toward the mortgage. In a year and a half I will have 23% equity. And if I keep it up, will have the paid off the entire mortgage in 5.5 years.

And 1/3 of my new income will be going into savings. I don’t know how long I will work, and if you want to hear God laugh, tell him your plans.

Topgun: Maverick is out on the 26th. I’m going to buy a ticket and drive to Saco (where the iMax is located) and maybe go to supper at Olive Garden.

Because I am fancy like that.


Deleted user May 23, 2022

If you were in the service, anything else is a breeze I would think. You have dealt with some real assholes so you will just bring out that old patient face and put up with the BS. Doing 43 years in a factory I would often look at what other people did and bitched about it and laugh. Whoa? You think THAT is hard work? You sound like you got your shit together. Good luck to you!

Jinn May 24, 2022

Fancy is nice !!

gattaca May 25, 2022

42K for a steely-eyed stocked ain't bad.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.