Turning corners into dead ends in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • May 23, 2022, 12:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This fortress of books and rooms

surrounding me

forms a rather simple maze

For me to lose myself in,

if I so desire.

I cannot begin to process

all that is stuffed

into every available niche and corner.


It is my known universe.

My cluttered and 
difficult to negotiate

sanctuary.

Or so I think.

I walk from room to room,

picking up one thing here,

another there:

a book, a magazine,

a bag of chips,

a glass of juice.


I am no sooner settled in one place

than I must be up again

and back to where I just came from

moments earlier. 

Round and round.
All the while,

silence.

Unless I introduce music

at an opportune time.

The central AC cuts off.

The wind rustles great chimes.

My thoughts are stranded

in empty space.

I don’t seem to want

to pull together the loose ends.

To make sense of anything.

Isn’t that what I try to do

anytime I pick up something to read,

or download yet another article

on the Internet,

or wander the byways of cyberspace

aimlessly,

turning corners into dead ends?

This rather well describes how I feel this afternoon, 20 years after I wrote this poem. I also haven’t been feeling well since last night. These things will pass.


Last updated May 23, 2022


ConnieK May 23, 2022

You conveyed the restlessness well. I'm sorry you're feeling under the weather. Take care of you. Eat healthy and get lots of rest.

Jinn May 24, 2022

I get this feeling :-) It’s a good poem.
I hope you start feeling better!

Oswego Jinn ⋅ May 24, 2022

Thank you! Definitely better.

Jinn Oswego ⋅ May 26, 2022

Good news!

Deleted user May 25, 2022

Thank you for sharing this. Beautiful!

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ May 25, 2022

Thank you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.