Now What? 07.06.14 in Your Face

  • June 6, 2014, 6:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My first day of unemployment has been successful so far. I woke up around 7am, had a slice of leftover cake for breakfast, and headed to the shops. That took me about 40 minutes, and I am now back at my sister's house.

My last day of work was nice. We had cake for morning tea (which is why I have leftover cake in the fridge now) and I was given a fancy shmancy luggage set (suitcase and carry on), a watch and a $100 Amazon voucher (intended for Kindle books). Spoiled rotten! The office manager also got me some curry puffs from the Thai place, they are my absolute favourite!

The work day felt like it took forever, my boss was out of the office so I only had a few things to do, aside from tidying up and fretting over anything I might have forgotten. 5:00pm finally came and I was just so relieved to GO. I went to the supermarket and bought a few things, then headed to my sister's house to dogsit. Unpacked the car, brought my gifts in to the house, fed the dog, kicked off my worn out work shoes, took my uniform off (and threw it on the floor!) and said down for a while, feeling a little stunned.

It's over. I friggin' OWNED that office for four years, I am the one person that they measure every secretary to, that they compare their junior solicitors to, and who knew (nearly) everything, where to find it, how to do it, how much any filing fees or charges were, I was extremely organised and efficient... And it's all over now! None of it matters any more. That's the hardest part to swallow. All that effort, and none if it matters now. But I'd do it all again.

So what are my plans now that I am unemployed, still on a break from study, and with no real obligations? Not really sure. Obviously I don't want to do anything that costs money! This week's major project is cleaning the crap out of my car and taking some nice photos of it, then posting the ad for it's sale. That will be a big job because the inside is very dusty and grimy, and the carpet will take a heck of a lot of vacuuming, particularly the boot.

Today I feel a bit bored, as I usually do on a Saturday. It's only going to get worse from here! I'm going out for dinner and a movie with my Heslop tonight.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.