Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier (REVIEW) in Back entries: 2013 - 2015

  • June 6, 2014, 1:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

There may or may not be spoilers in this entry....I loved this book. When Mary Yellan promises her dying mother that she will go and live with her aunt and uncle, she has no idea the danger that she will find herself in. She is befriended by a parson and a rogue, but are these friendships enough to help her?

I found this book far superior to Rebecca, it was far more gripping. I found that the atmosphere of the Cornish moors is portrayed brilliantly, as is the sense of dread with every scrape that Mary finds herself in. I felt that the book was an emotional roller coaster almost, one roots for Mary from the beginning. When I read the last line of the book and closed it, I had a sense of relief and hope for the future of certain characters.

A really enjoyable read, and one of those “winter” reads…I found myself curled up in bed in the evenings (and some lazy mornings too) engrossed in it.

Pages: 267


Last updated January 01, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.