Catching up in Life

  • June 5, 2014, 8:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I keep coming here to write and I don't. I read and note, but never seem to get anything written. It's been summer vacation for just over 2 weeks and it's been pretty hectic. I'm just going to bullet everything to simplify it. Feel free to skip/skim over. I just want to get it all out to get it straight in my head. * Bubba and Lucy continue to have trouble. He's left or threatened to leave at least twice. He's got a line on a job that should be starting in a week. They are in a bad position with finances. It's so hard to sit back and watch. I gave him some money the other day to get to the drug test. (Money I didn't really have.) The next thing you know is Lucy is posting that they went to a museum up there. (She drove him to the test.) Then she posted that she had gotten a new phone since her other one was messed up. Of course it's not a cheap one. What the hell????? Y'all can't afford to pay your bills, but you can get a freaking phone? I'm not a person who hates people. I'm not. But y'all.....I'm having the hardest time finding something to like about her. I could write pages about why I feel the way I do, but I'm not going to go there. Too much ugliness to spew out.
* Tootie had a meeting at work and it looked like she might be let go, but they are working on making things better and giving her more responsibilities. I love her dearly but the girl needs to grow up. She doesn't behave like an adult in this job sometimes. She acts like a 16 year old in her first job.
* I've had a couple of meetings for school and workshops. It's already time to be looking at what we're doing next year. Our test scores came out and mine were good. I wasn't happy with them, but I was highest in science and 2nd in social studies. Considering what I expected my social studies scores to be, I'll take it. (the test was ridiculous) The meetings have been interesting for lack of a better word. There's a huge push to bring literacy into science and social studies. That requires a lot of collaboration between me and Bitchy J who IS NOT into collaboration. My principal sees this so that helps. She's also complimented me several times for working so hard this year on my own bringing literacy in. Our instructional coach and I sat and planned toward the end of the year and she planned out two unit that Bitchy J would teach that would go with what I was teaching at the time. Of course today she met with Bitchy J, and I'm sure those plans are out the window.
* My dad has been using a special cream (chemo med we found out later) on the precancerous spots on his head and face. They are all almost completely gone. He's now on strict orders to stay out of the sun unless he is covered and has sunscreen on. He had his eye procedure where they removed some bleeders from his eyes (caused by the diabetes) and it went well. The blood pressure medicine seems to be helping. He's been....nicer. We'll take all the help we can get on that front. :) * My mom is handing everything well. She's had a few appointments too, from the new doctor, but most have been just checkups. Her bone density was a little low and she is taking meds for an ulcer (small wonder), but that's it. *Cbaby has been amazing. She leaves Sunday night to spend 5 days in DC with the Choctaw tribe. (Sooooo happy for her!) She comes back on Friday and leaves the next Monday for 5 days in Fort Worth with Tootie. (cuz who needs to save money, right???) Then the Monday after that, she, my mom, and I are headed to Houston for a couple of nights. She's going to be a worn out kid, but I think she's going to have fun. She's got band camp in July, so the trips all had to be this month. *I will be spending next week helping at a fishing camp. It was fun last year, so I'm looking forward to it. At least one of my students will be there. (She's going to be the only girl. lol) I also got accepted into a 2 day workshop in New Orleans on holding mock trials in the classroom. As part of that workshop we get to visit the State Supreme Court. I'm looking forward to that.

I think that's most of the things caught up some. I am exhausted and plan on getting to bed very soon. I couldn't sleep last night. I flipped and flopped, rearranged pillows, came out to the couch, came out to the recliner...nothing doing. About 4:30 I gave up and just read. I had to get up for a hair appointment anyway. (I'll try and post a pic tomorrow, I really like the color this time.) I can't sleep in tomorrow because I have to get up early to bring Tootie in so she can drop off her car and then go back with her tomorrow afternoon.

Excuse any typos and punctuation errors. I'm typing on the iPad with my external keyboard and the punctuation doesn't always want to work.


Jigger June 05, 2014

He married trash and now he's stuck. No more money from you, ma'am, if that's what she's got him spending it on. I really wonder what she thinks is going to happen here, long-term.

GAWD I wish they'd get rid of Bitchy J. You've had a hard enough year with family without having a stressypants workplace, too. At least they seem to know what they have in you, but WHY can't they cut their losses with her?! She's horrible!

Do you ever take Benedryl when you can't sleep? Sometimes I do. I wonder how much it works, and how much is just psychological. I also have about four thunderstorm CDs I can play really softly. I mostly only use one, though--I have every grumble and rain-splatter memorized by now, but it really does help.

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ June 11, 2014

I've taken Advil PM from time to time. I usually have to get a good 6 hrs though to get rid of the grogginess. If I take Benedryl I need 8 lol. I have music paying, that helps. I read at times, but sometimes that doesn't help. I get into the book and forget sleep.

Small Town Girl June 06, 2014

WHY O WHY wont they get rid of bitchy J? If even your principal knows she is horrid, WHY keep her?! IDK why employers dont honestly fire shitty employees. Its maddening!

Have fun in TX! Someday I hope to get there!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.