Saturday 04/30/22 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • April 30, 2022, 1:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good Saturday Afternoon!!

Yes, it is again raining here in Iowa. And I am so over it. That and the wind that blows at 30-50 mph daily. I don’t ever remember a spring being this wet or windy. Maybe because I am just so sick of it. I am ready for some warm sunny dry days. It is currently 62 degrees. But the rain is relentless. Tomorrow it is supposed to be dry and temps around 55 degrees. 

I know it has been a while since I have been here. I just have not been in the mood to write. My life is so drab and boring. I write the same shit each time. I know our lives are what we make them. I am certainly ready for a change. Whatever that may be. I don’t know if I can handle any excitement. It’s been so long since there was any in my life. Maybe I am better off with a quiet boring life.

I woke up once again around 4:30 a.m. Which seems to be the norm lately. I watched the morning news and made my coffee and read for a bit. Around 7:00 a.m. I got dressed and went into our little town for the first garage sale. They didn’t start a 7 a.m. like it said so I drove over to the other church sale I was interested in. I waited there for a bit until they opened. I really hit the jackpot. This is the sale I look forward to every year. I always find a lot of things. Most everything was 25 cents. Unless marked otherwise. The furniture was more. I spent $4. I got several shirts, and 4 pairs of shorts, sandals, and two books. And then I went to the other church sale. I only got 2 books for $1 there. I was very happy with my purchases. I stopped at two other sales but didn’t find anything. That is probably all the sales that will happen in our little town for the season. We don’t have any unless they do city-wide or clean-up weekends. 

It is raining really hard now. My lawn really is going to need to be mowed this week. I will have to call my yard guy. It hasn’t been mowed yet this season. People around me in the park are just starting to mow their lawns. The lawn guy was wanting to mow it two weeks ago and I said no. We still had frost several nights after that. We got into an argument about it. He doesn’t do a very good job. And I called him on it this year. He is cheap but he does a shitty job. And it is hard to find someone that will mow lawns in a mobile home park. My first complaint is that he mows this small lawn with a riding lawn mower because he is lazy. It takes less than 5 minutes to mow it. My second complaint is that he mows first thing in the morning when the lawn is wet. Well, mowing a lawn when it’s wet does not give you a good result. When he is done I have several areas that were not cut and remain long until he mows the next time. It looks like shit. And he has left big ruts in my yard from mowing it wet. Those ruts remain there still from last year. The third complaint is He wants to mow it more than once a week. It doesn’t need it even once a week most of the time. Unless we get a lot of rain. So I tried to explain these things to him. He charges $15 each time. If I go with a company they will charge me 3x more. So I said I wanted him to do the job this year with stipulations. This man does not like stipulations. But asking him to not mow the lawn when it’s wet. And to only mow twice a month unless I ask for more. Last year at the end of the year he overcharged me for mowing he didn’t do. We were in a drought. And my bill was double what it normally is. I told him this year I am marking on the calendar each time he mows. And he is to mow no more than twice a month unless I ask for more. So I will see how this goes. I can’t even find a young man to do this. There are several of us in the park that need help. He has us right where he wants us. No one can afford 3x his rate and to sign a contract to have them mow weekly no matter what. Sorry, that was a long story.

One of my girlfriends wants to go to a fish fry that is out of town tonight. I am not sure she will still want to go since it is raining so hard. The fish fry is in a town 22 miles away. So we shall see. I have food I can eat. So I don’t care either way. There is also live music at one of the local bars tonight. I am tempted to go even if I have to go alone. We shall see. I won’t drink alcohol because I will have to drive myself back home. And I really have no desire to drink. 

I might just stay in and read or watch something on tv. Last night I finished the new book by James Patterson and Dolly Parton. It was actually pretty good. I don’t think JP had any part in writing the story. I think it was all Dolly P. And I do believe she didn’t actually need his name to get the book sold. I hope she will write another one. Once again I have several books checked out from the library. I am determined to read as many as possible before they are due. 

I am going to stop here. I want to check my emails before I get off the computer. I am trying to spend less time glued to the computer. It’s not working out for me very well. But I am determined. Mindless time on Facebook. Wasted time.
Later,
Sheri


Jinn April 30, 2022

I think I would invest in a lawn mower and mow my own yard . Maybe charge the other people to do theirs :-) You can come out ahead on that deal .

ladylovestheocean Jinn ⋅ May 01, 2022

It is cheaper to have someone else do it. I also have no place to store a mower.

Jinn ladylovestheocean ⋅ May 01, 2022

Darn !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.