Slice of life: A cautionary tale in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • April 28, 2022, 7:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was walking at the state park yesterday when I saw a mother jogging on the path just ahead, coming in my direction, with what I am guessing was her 5-year old son on his little bike peddling fast to keep ahead of her. He was doing quite well keeping up the pace.

I started to walk down toward the small lake. The precocious boy on his bike didn’t miss a beat.

He yelled, “Are you going to see the alligator?”

“Yeah,” I yelled back, trying to humor him.

“That’s not a very good idea,” he replied.

I had to laugh.

“True,” I thought, but I like to take photos along the edge of that small pond.

Fortunately, that afternoon, Mr. Gator (about 8 feet long) wasn’t sunning himself at the edge of the water.

I admit I’ve ventured a little too close at times to get a picture of him. Always looks so harmless, dozing there in death-like repose.

Caution:

https://flic.kr/p/2nhbR9E

When he’s not slumbering on the bank of the lake.

https://flic.kr/p/2nh6Gb5


Last updated April 28, 2022


Deleted user April 29, 2022

Wow…! 😯

music & dogs & wine April 29, 2022

I LOVE alligators! One of my favorite pictures that I ever took was at the Audubon Zoo in NOLA, there was this mossy water and all you can see is the outline of him and the top spiky ridges of his head, back and tail coming through the moss. I didn't describe that very well, but it's a really cool picture!

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ April 30, 2022

I used to love to go to Audubon Park in the late 70s and 80s. We went as children to the soon in the 50s but the conditions were awful. Much improved since then, I hear.

music & dogs & wine Oswego ⋅ April 30, 2022

We were there in 2008 and it was the nicest zoo I had ever been to!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.