A perfect Spring day at the gardens in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • April 26, 2022, 8:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been stepping away from the madness of crowds, traffic and noise by visiting Magnolia Gardens for more that 40 years now. It’s enchanting, flower-filled pathways are known to me by heart.

I can honestly say I know every nook and cranny of this 400-acre wonderland, considered by many one of the most beautiful gardens in the country. It gets a lot of visitors from all over the world, but I know the best times of day, year and season to go and have much of it all to myself. Yes, those refreshing, rejuvenating solitary walks in Spring and Fall when the gardens are so empty, are true bliss. How fortunate I am!

February through May are my favorite months because the gardens are generally cool and delightful. I can easily find mild and beautiful days in December and January as well. There are no limits to the photo possibilities, and now with the latest iPhone camera, I can once again take very sharp photos. I haven’t used my broken Nikon in over a year now. I’m happy with the phone camera. It’s the future of photography, I feel sure.

Here is a set of photos taken at Magnolia April 20. The afternoon was pure perfection — 65 degrees, sunny with clear, pristine afternoon light. Every outside care melted away as I wandered the paths taking pictures. There were a few of those “A ha!” moments when I knew I had gotten an especially good photo and composition. Those are the pictures, admittedly rare, which to my mind tell stories and create special moods for not only myself, but for those who see what I am seeing in the picture.

Thanks to the Internet, photography is now, as it never remotely could have been, a means of communication for anyone, even a form of mass communication, if the right circumstances are in play. That’s very exciting.

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/8YCu99


music & dogs & wine April 26, 2022

Beautiful photos as always!

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ April 26, 2022

☺️

Jinn April 26, 2022

So much beauty! I would be lost without my iPhone camera .
It’s still cold here . 42F all day today . We still just have the earliest spring flowers.

Deleted user May 01, 2022

Beautiful photos, as always! Such bright and wonderful colors!
I am also using my iphone and sometimes the iPad to take pictures.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ May 01, 2022

Thank you, my friend. The gardens at that park are a happy place to be. I treasure the opportunity to take walks there, and it’s so close to where I live now. 😊

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.