The final stretch in selling our house comes with anticipation and excitement, sadness and relief, but also grubby money issues in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • April 24, 2022, 2:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The past few weeks have been quite interesting and eye-opening, as well as tumultuous.  We had two serious offers on the house fall through because we are selling it as is, but one of them wanted us to reduce the price considerably, to avoid having to pay for the repairs directly. They cloaked this by having a “due diligence” section in the contract, whereby they could have all kinds of biased inspections done in a given period of time (10 days) to give them both an out and reasons to ask us for concessions.  

In the interest of full disclosure, we had a thorough inspection done prior to these offers and, now, the listing on the open market. We’ve done a lot of repairs ourselves and felt the first prospective buyers, who were very serious, and with whom we made offers and counter-offers, were being unreasonable.  One thing I’ve had confirmed about the very rich or well-off:  they will try to nickel and dime you to save a few bucks.  It’s rather unsavory so far and makes me wish we were selling a more modest property, but all three of us siblings are dependent on this house sale for retirement savings, particularly my brother and I. Even if I only live a few more years, I’m still in need of retirement assets. At my age, mortality is always a big question. 

The house as of today is on the open market and getting a flood of inquiries, as I had thought it would.  The process could be dragged out and there are potential pitfalls but I’m hoping it can be over with fairly quickly.  I am SO ready at this point to move on.  We have a very good real estate agent.

I am settled in my new apartment and love it. Now if only we can find someone to buy it who doesn’t live in a $3 million house with luxury cars lining the driveway and wants another house “toy” in addition to the five they already have (our first interested buyers).

This whole process is very sad and emotional for me, because, as you know, the house we are selling is where I not only lived for many years, but where I took care of my mother who had dementia in her last years. I am hoping for someone to buy this house who will fix it up, and come to love and cherish it as I and my mother did when we lived there..


Last updated April 24, 2022


Sleepy-Eyed John April 24, 2022

People buy way too much stuff.

Good luck with sale.

Oswego Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ April 26, 2022

Thanks! :)

Deleted user April 24, 2022

When my sisters and I sold the family home, we didn't even talk to real estate prospectors, people who wanted an investment property, etc. We sold it to people who wanted a house to live in. That was in 2001 and it has not been sold since.

Yes, the wealthy are horribly cheap. People with $50 million in assets will whine and complain about a $7.00 transaction fee. I saw that kind of thing all the time when I worked for a financial firm for a couple of years.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ April 26, 2022

I am not at all surprised at that. In this neighborhood, unfortunately for us, it’s abuyer’s market as I’m discovering. What is it they say about the rich? “They will always be with us.” 😕🧐

music & dogs & wine April 24, 2022

Selling/buying real estate is such a stressful process! I hope it ends soon for you! And yes, rich people are insanely cheap. I live in a pretty wealthy area and the people around here amaze me with how ridiculous they can be.

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ April 26, 2022

Yes, and WHY? Honestly, If I was rich I’d be giving as much of it away as I could.

woman in the moon April 25, 2022

Best of luck. Real estate deals are fraught.

Oswego woman in the moon ⋅ April 26, 2022

Very, very fraught. I had no idea!

Deleted user May 01, 2022

Oh, it is so stressful, dear friend! We went through this a few times. First when my mom died dad sold the home where I and my sister grew up. We went through the whole process of discussions with byers.
Then, when dad passed away we sold his apartment plus a few pieces of building land, and again we experienced that nerve-racking process.
Always the same discussions with potential buyers who wanted the price lower and lower. Now we still have a piece of building land that we leave in undivided ownership for the same reason. Ouch! 😕
I don't even want to think about it, this hassle makes me so nervous.

I hope you will be able to sell it for the price you want but you will need a lot patience probably. Much luck. 🍀👍

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.