Retiring? in Help Me Please

Revised: 04/24/2022 8:47 a.m.

  • April 24, 2022, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When you hear the word retire what is the first thing you think of?
Leaving your job? Or going to bed? Or is it something else?
For me it’s when a person leaves their job because they are at that age where they can.
But then there are different types of retiring. There is semi retired and there is sort of retire and there is also not retiring because you just don’t want to. I don’t know anyone who is fully retired from their job. For the most part they find something else to do and do that when they feel like it. I would think people would go crazy if they didn’t do something. And just because you don’t have a place to go to work doesn’t mean that you can’t do what you want. Like my dad he owned a flooring company and now he is helping a friend with her business but only when he wants to and the rest of the time my mom and him do things together like travel and visit friends and just be with each other.
And then there is people like my brother who is always travelling and I don’t think he will ever give that up. And his job is one of the good ones where he does work hard but also has fun.
Me on the other hand just stays home and maintains the space and I also keep hubby and I safe. But maybe the best way to describe what I do is I am a home maker because I don’t really go anywhere to work like others do.

Onto something else....

Dinner last night I ended up making this....
https://bellyfull.net/skillet-beans-and-rice-with-kielbasa/

And tonight it’s going to be boxed fish sticks and roasted potatoes and carrots and of course tarter sauce and lemon.
Tomorrow I am thinking steak or a roast to end hubby’s holiday and this way he will have a good dinner and sleep good. And maybe I will even make a cake or brownies just to have as a treat.
And today I will be doing some laundry and I really should do some of the cleaning. Like the bathroom and change my bed sheets and then I can have a nice bath or shower.
So today and tomorrow will be getting into work mode so hubby will have everything he needs for work and I get to have “ME” time all day on Tuesday.

Onto something else....

Well. I need to stop here and get started on my day....
Do have a great day....
Be Kind, Be Calm, Be safe and Behave.


Last updated April 24, 2022


theKat April 26, 2022

retiring is doing what ever makes you happy. be if fishing, traveling, relaxing, some like to work part time

Jodie theKat ⋅ April 26, 2022

I know that...But I don't know many people who do nothing they like to have the extra income on top of their pension.

theKat Jodie ⋅ April 29, 2022

we will both have SS checks, our pension, and savings/investments our money did not change much after retirement

Jodie theKat ⋅ April 29, 2022

If you didn't have your investments or savings could you still live the life you are accustomed to?

theKat Jodie ⋅ April 29, 2022

probably not but that is why we saved for. we both started saving at 20 or 30 for retirement

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.