TWO DAYS - 04.06.14 in Your Face

  • June 4, 2014, 10:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Two lousy days of work left. Let's go already, I just want it over and done with. Tomorrow we are doing a big farewell lunch at a nearby Chinese restaurant. I am feeling (only slightly) guilty as I begin wondering what my farewell gift will be. The office manager is an absolute whiz at organising gifts and parties, so it might just be something awesome. I just feel guilty for having expectations!

Got a referral for a blood test in the mail from my doctor today, for a thyroid test. It freaked me out at first, as I have not been to see her since February, but I wonder if she gave me the referral in the wad of others that day. I had been given referrals after I asked her about my constant peeing during the night, but I never followed them up because I don't have private health insurance. My peeing issues have abated somewhat and I now only wake up once or twice a night, instead of four or five times. Anyway, I have allotted the blood test to one day next week, so that I have an errand to run and therefore feel like I'm still Doing Things, and not just sitting at home.

Tomorrow, three more cartons will be collected, the last of the large boxes. It cost me $360 to send them, but it's almost 40 kilograms of stuff, so it's actually quite cheap. Now I just need to organise the last smaller boxes and get those sent out, and I will be done shipping.

I am also going to dinner with my neighbour tomorrow, which will be nice. I actually need to be packing my stuff ready to house sit for my sister over the long weekend, but I can get started on that tonight. I need to take my bag with me to work on Friday, as I'll be going to her house straight from work, then dashing off to the pub for drinks.

Feeling quite flat this week, and itching to get the final things in place so that I can just leave.

Mother is looking to apply for another job within her employer (energy company). The new position involves a lot of stuff to do with real property, easements, caveats etc. She asked me what she can do to research the job requirements, and I feel useless! I am such a horrible teacher. I just referred her to the website where she can look up Australian legislation and case law, and to the website with the land titles forms that she would be dealing with (the forms all come with guides). I wonder if I have my old land law textbook around that she could read.... That might be an idea.


starry-eyed June 04, 2014

Hooray for almost being done with work! That's so great. I'm jealous of your organization with the shipping company, that is SO cheap! I sent two big boxes home from Chicago and it cost $1300!! I could have bought a round trip flight almost for that price. I was too confused with shipping companies because last time I did that my mum had to pick them up at the dock and pay another $400 in duties or something. This time I made sure it was door to door!

AlexYourAlterEgo starry-eyed ⋅ June 04, 2014

Yeah, I had been really worried about how much it was going to cost, so I kept putting it off, then one day decided to look around again and found www.ship2anywhere.com.au. They use DHL and go from door to door, with tracking and labels provided. My boxes are only taking 4 days to get there, which is just incredible, and it costs HALF as much as the previous estimates I was getting. I have no idea where they're cutting their costs, but my stuff is turning up just fine at the other end.

starry-eyed AlexYourAlterEgo ⋅ June 04, 2014

That's awesome! I will have to keep that in mind for the next time I decide to move countries :) Hopefully I am satisfied with life in Melbourne when I go back home this time though!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.