So much for that in Public

  • April 8, 2022, 8:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had great intentions to write more regularly and then poof! that didn’t happen.

We got back from Lisbon and then 10 days later Lauren, Zach, and the boys arrived for a long weekend. We had a great time together, swimming, cooking, eating ice cream. We even went over to the other coast to see our aunt. While there we got a call from Lauren’s neighbor that there was an ambulance at her house. My parents were there watching Lauren’s dog. Lauren called my mom and we found out that my dad had a heart attack (this was on March 20th). Lauren and her crew were set to fly home on the 21st and there were no earlier flights. I considered flying home with them but I didn’t even have my meds so that meant I was dropping them at Orlando Airport and driving home to PSL to discuss options with Liam.

Liam was able to put me on a one way flight to Philly the next morning, early. He actually dropped me back at Orlando at 330am. He even arranged for a long term car rental so I wouldn’t feel rushed to come back too soon. Dad had a stent put in overnight and when I arrived the plan was to release him in a few days.

Well, that didn’t happen. He kept having chest pain so they tried to do a heart cath and put in another stent but there were too many blockages and one was at 80%, in his LAD (AKA the widow maker). So his cardio surgeon suggested bypass surgery. Naturally this needed to be discussed between my parents and the many doctors that were in charge of my dad. Eventually he decided to have open heart surgery. Thankfully the hospital allowed my sister and I to wait with my mom while the surgery happened.

We all knew I needed to come home at some point. I had my own medical appointments to be kept. However, I am the only person who doesn’t currently work so I knew I would need to be back. So I flew home on the 3rd and Liam, Mac and I are heading back to PA tomorrow. Mac and I will stay for about 2 weeks while Liam will go to Lisbon on the 16th. Once he’s back on the 24th we’ll all head back to Florida.

What a life.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.