April, Come She Will in General

  • April 8, 2022, 2:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sad song, but accurately expresses the lifespan of my loves. Sometimes years, sometimes months.

Well endgame is coming on regarding this condo. I can’t get a solid read on what bank guy Garrett is doing. Every time we talk he tells me he will check on something or other and get back to me, and then I don’t hear from him for weeks.

The problem is, even though I am pre-approved for a VA loan through New Day these condos aren’t approved for VA loans. So while I would prefer to stay here, I have started looking around for houses.

Meanwhile I’ll push Garrett, and make a parallel application through my bank to see what they say.

They just replaced the furnace. Previously I shared a furnace with my neighbors. Now we are on our own “high efficiency on demand boilers.”

I’ve already noticed the heat is much more stable compared to before when my thermostat was set at 65F and I would wake up to 60F and by the afternoon it would be 85F in the house. My Dad has a theory that the zone valves are cross wired, so when my neighbor mess with their thermostat it changes my heat. And there is a girl next door, and girls are genetically unable to stop FUCKING with the thermostat. My Dad complains about the fact that my Mother adjusts the thermostat fifty times a day.

Mid October I set my thermostat at 65F and Mid April I turn it off. Never touch it in between. I left the upstairs heat off most of this winter. Relatively mild/low snow winter.

Today it is cold and clammy and windy and raining in buckets. April showers and all…
In a couple of hours I have to drive down to Portland to pick up my primary computer (currently typing on my “studio” computer) which had abruptly refused to turn on Sunday.

Weird as shit – you have to have an “appointment” to pick up your machine at Best Buy. And the Best buy at the Maine Mall is only open from 1100-1700. And retailers wonder why everyone is buying everything online and making that shitty little man, Jeff Bezos, richer than God.

That last sentence would earn me 30 days in Faceplant Jail. Do. Not. Disparage. The. Liberal. Anointed. Ones.

Well, I’ve been awake since 0230 (Note to self - Do NOT go to bed at 2100) and it is finally time to get through the shower, shave and actually put on clothes for my jaunt to Portland.


Last updated April 08, 2022


gattaca April 08, 2022

Fuck Bezos. There. I said it. I'd say it to his face. And also launch a bunch of RPGs at his yacht. Did you know he has his own Medevac helicopter?

I'm steeling myself for central AC replacement. It's been hanging over my head like Damocles' proverbial sword for 3 years, but the damn thing keeps on running. It's past its service life, they tell me. The replacement cost keeps going up.

woman in the moon April 08, 2022

I thought everybody had programmable thermostats. We made jillions of faceplaces for them at my old old old job which I just realized was a long time ago. Anyway when we got our first ever in this house thermostat a few years ago I assumed that was what we would get but we didn't. So son who pays for the propane and controls the thermostat sets it up and down. I 'almost' never touch it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.